Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is an excellent recipe just as written. I did make some changes to suit our tastes, but did not need to for the sake of the recipe. I just wanted to make a double batch, so I added some ground sausage instead of extra ground beef and added a few different types of beans instead of just doubling the beans called for in the recipe. I used kidney, pinto, black and boracho beans and I used 5 cans of beans and a can of stewed tomatoes. I added the tomatoes towards the end, as I found that I had drained too much liquid from the beans and just needed a little more moisture. By the way, I did save the liquid from the beans and used it along the way to add back into the chili if needed. This is really a great recipe, and I have frozen a bunch of it to have for quick meals. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I for one LOVE when people tell how they made their version of these recipes. It gives me ideas about what works and what doesn't. When I make homemade lasagna, I pull out my 3 favorite recipes and use what I like from them-different prep every time but always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Gd Chili. I like to throw whatever vegetable I have in frig just to give it more interest. Use Lots of Garlic and everyone will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great recipe, omitted the celery....my hubby and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I had never made chili by myself before but this recipe was very simple to follow and very tasty! I agree with some of the other reviewers who felt it was a little bland; we compensated by adding salsa and sriracha sauce to each serving. I plan on making this again this weekend and I think instead of tomato puree I'm going to use two cans of Rotel. I also think the vegetables would benefit from a saute before they go into the slow cooker, they were a little bit crunchier than I would have liked but that's just a personal preference. Other than that I highly recommend this recipe, we had it with tortillas chips and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Came out dry (maybe from having crock pot on high). Next time I will not use a crock pot or different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I've made a couple of different recipes this winter and this one was rated last. My husband is a big chili fan and also didn't care for it very much. The celery was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
LOVED!!!!! this recipe. it was delicious. only teaked it slightly. I used 3/4 tsp hot sauce instead for a bit more of a kick, and 5 cloves of garlic. I also drained and rinsed the beans and didnt use the liquid from the. instead i used 1 large can of crushed tomatoes and used the liquid from that. super delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Loved this!!!! All of my "boys" ate it up!!! Followed to a tee, only added a little crushed red pepper & a few dashes of Crystal's Hot Sauce. Perfect for a cold night. Saved in my Fav's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great recipe, I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States