Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This is not chili. Its spaghetti sauce with beans. Celery and 1/2 T of chili powder? Christ almighty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Hubs is a huge chili fan and loved it, but I felt pretty neutral. I omitted the celery, so maybe that's the punch it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
First, it took longer than 15 mins to prep. But maybe I am slow. My other remark is that it was quite tasteless. Maybe it will be better next day? I will taste it tomorrow before finding an alternate recipe and adjust the seasoning accordingly. Granted, I used fresh parsley instead of dried (because I didn't have any) and I could have used a smoked chilli powder instead of regular. I did not have any cannellini beans so I used black beans instead. However, these changes should not be responsible for the lack of flavour. As it is, this is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amelteur

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Very bland, with an overwhelming tomato taste. The white beans didn't cook as well as the dark, and it wasn't very meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreMagic

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I made this last night for a pot luck at the HighSchool. It was a big hit! I changed something's in the recipe. I used fresh oven roasted tomatoes instead of purée. I drained all my beans completely so for sauce I used a can of beef stock and half a bottle of Guinness. Added a jalapeño pepper for kick. With an hours cooking time left to go I felt that the flavors weren't coming together so I added a half tablespoon of taco seasoning. Wow! It didn't overpower the chile at all but rounded the taste off beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huckleberry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindamarie
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I liked it after I used diced green Ortega chilies, fresh oregano from my garden, one whole onion, grass fed hamburger, a ton of garlic, paprika, bay leafs, pepper, pink salt, lots of cumin, diced tomatoes, two cans of kidney beans during the last 45 minutes of cooking. Oh yeah I added a bit of chili pepper flakes.... But we are not hot chili eaters....we loved it! Cooked it all in a slow cooker. We topped it with sour cream, chopped red onions, grated cheddar cheese and chives. Had mini saltines too and ice cold beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Great recipe. Made it for a church dinner and it was a big hit. Thought it sounded like too much kidney beans so I added one can of kidney and one can of black beans and I skipped the cannellini beans. Used Tomato sauce instead of puree and it was fine.I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
To me finding a good chili recipe is difficult. Many are missing something making them lack a fullness in the flavor. This is not a spicy recipe. I like that because I have small kids and I think so many recipes cover the fact that they are missing the full flavor by being spicy. "Dull the tastebuds so it seems good". This is nice the way it is or add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
For me, chili needs to taste like, well, chili! I originally made per the recipe but, like so many others, found it very bland and too much of a tomato flavor and not a chili flavor. I ended up adding a bit more than an additional 1.5 tbsp for a total of 2. Just this addition made it 5 stars for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I truly love this recipe. I make it often during the colder months. For anyone who says that celery doesn't belong in chili, doesn't have an open mind. It's virtually tasteless, but very healthy and increases the fiber content of the chili. It also is one of the top foods recommended by the Nat'l Institute of Health to help lower blood pressure. Packed full of veggies, legumes and taste! The recipe rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States