Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly, and it didn't really wow me, flavor wise, but I can't say it was bad. The cannellini beans were a nice twist on your basic chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Very good chili, and I love the convenience of the slow cooker. My hubby cannot eat oregano so I added cilantro instead and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cleary
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is really a great chili. I made it for company and they also loved it. The only thing I changed is we used only one can of kidney beans and drained both cans of beans. We also used two pounds of hamberger because we like a very meaty chili. Also did what another reviewer suggested that I saute the celery, onion, and green bell pepper in butter before adding it to the slow cooker and they on low for 4 hours. loved it and will make this again. Served with a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I LOVED the recipe but I saw there were a few items that James and I like. So here is what I changed or added. I will be posting this as a new recipe but as "Slow Cooker Chili II(a) as it is 95% this item. Here is what we did: 2 tablespoons Chili Powder 1 tablespoon Cumin 2 tablespoons sugar change 2 (10.75 ounces) can tomato puree to: 1 (10.75 ounce) can tomato puree and 1 (10.75 ounce) can tomato sauce 1 (15 ounces) can cannellini to 2 (15 ounces) can pinto beans 1 bay leaf I give this a MUIST MAKE and MUST EAT!!!!! It is GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Easy to make! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
A lot of ingredients but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Soooo delicious! Changes: a bit extra onion and garlic, used red pepper instead of green (personal preference), used tubed puree as I couldn't find it canned, used 1 can kidney beans and 2 cans "chili" beans (chili flavored pinto beans)--this was GREAT, used extra chili powder and hot sauce, but would use even more of both next time. What I love about this chili--NO CHUNKS OF TOMATO! Just creamy, thick goodness. I will make this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
OMGosh! I love it!!!! It's so good I want to can a bunch of it to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I really did not like this. It did not really taste like chili to me- I am removing this from my Recipe Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I love this as a base recipe - I've used it several times. However, when I make it I have to make to pots - One for the kids cooked as directed. The one for adults gets some jalapenos, lots of extra hot sauce and some ground cayenne pepper. Sometimes some other hot peppers, depending on what is in season. Also use dried beans with an overnight soak - 1 lbs is good for doubling the recipe. Also use some cheap, lean steak instead of hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Birdsong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States