Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is really a great chili. I made it for company and they also loved it. The only thing I changed is we used only one can of kidney beans and drained both cans of beans. We also used two pounds of hamberger because we like a very meaty chili. Also did what another reviewer suggested that I saute the celery, onion, and green bell pepper in butter before adding it to the slow cooker and they on low for 4 hours. loved it and will make this again. Served with a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I LOVED the recipe but I saw there were a few items that James and I like. So here is what I changed or added. I will be posting this as a new recipe but as "Slow Cooker Chili II(a) as it is 95% this item. Here is what we did: 2 tablespoons Chili Powder 1 tablespoon Cumin 2 tablespoons sugar change 2 (10.75 ounces) can tomato puree to: 1 (10.75 ounce) can tomato puree and 1 (10.75 ounce) can tomato sauce 1 (15 ounces) can cannellini to 2 (15 ounces) can pinto beans 1 bay leaf I give this a MUIST MAKE and MUST EAT!!!!! It is GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Easy to make! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
A lot of ingredients but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Soooo delicious! Changes: a bit extra onion and garlic, used red pepper instead of green (personal preference), used tubed puree as I couldn't find it canned, used 1 can kidney beans and 2 cans "chili" beans (chili flavored pinto beans)--this was GREAT, used extra chili powder and hot sauce, but would use even more of both next time. What I love about this chili--NO CHUNKS OF TOMATO! Just creamy, thick goodness. I will make this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
OMGosh! I love it!!!! It's so good I want to can a bunch of it to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I really did not like this. It did not really taste like chili to me- I am removing this from my Recipe Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I love this as a base recipe - I've used it several times. However, when I make it I have to make to pots - One for the kids cooked as directed. The one for adults gets some jalapenos, lots of extra hot sauce and some ground cayenne pepper. Sometimes some other hot peppers, depending on what is in season. Also use dried beans with an overnight soak - 1 lbs is good for doubling the recipe. Also use some cheap, lean steak instead of hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Birdsong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was delicious and easy. A few alterations: I used 1/2 turkey 1/2 ground sirloin, omitted celery, 1 can purée and 1 can tomatoes with chiles, drained all beans and rinsed. Added fresh chipped jalapeños , added cumin... It was allllll gone and waiting for more. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Good chili. Took the top off for about 30 minutes at the end to thicken it just a bit before serving. Next time I'll drop the cannellini beans, and add some turkey meat. Maybe try some chopped jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States