Slow Cooker Chicken with Mushroom Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I was a little worried about this recipe. I read that people either loved or hated it. I really didn't want another failure on my hands...so I made a few changes. I also added a dash of nutmeg and more salt and pepper. I added frozen chicken to retain the moisture and let the soup mixture soak into it for 3 hours in the fridge before starting it. Lastly, once the chicken was cooked, I removed it, and stirred in 4 teaspoons of flour. Whisked to a gravy and served over rice. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This recipe rocks. I doubled the sauce because I wanted more gravy. I used the seasonings to taste though because of the reviews I read about it being bland. I adjusted salt, garlic, onion powder, parsely and such until it suited my taste. I also added a chicken boullion cube. I didn't use any wine though. I used grape vinegar (again, to taste) and it came out beautifully. I served over rice for my husband and myself and over mashed potatoes for my daughters. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haneen:)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Excellent! Made this last night for a family get together meal. To cook the chicken faster, I cut it up into strips. I didn't have any dried onions, so I cut up a medium onion and used that. As well as fresh mushrooms and fresh garlic. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Not bad, but for me it needs a lot more flavor. I even added a pretty good wine to bring it up, but it was still fairly insipid. It needs more garlic, and probably cream of some sort. Maybe a little mustard. I'll try it again, and try to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband loved this recipe, and he can be hard to please. Recipe was great as is! We served over rice. Thanks for a new recipe to add to the line up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My family loves this recipe. We love using the sauce over rice. The only adjustment is that we don't use the wine and I may use slightly more onion and spices than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. I added dried mixed mushrooms which were a very nice addition. My sister, who is a chef, always recommends dark meat for slow cooker recipes so will be trying dark meat chicken parts tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is decent but bland and the sauce came out really runny, and thin. I tried again using more garlic and onion but still no luck. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This recipe was...eh. The smell was fantastic while cooking, but the end result was lacking. Good points: The chicken itself was tender, the smell was good and its easy cleanup. Bad points: Taste was bland and slightly bitter, presentation is not very attractive, texture of the sauce is off. It's not thick, but it's almost..slimy. I followed the recipe exactly. This recipe could probably be made better with some tweaking, if you're up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This is an AWESOME recipe. I followed just as is, and it turned out great! I made this dish for my parents, husband and kids, ages 7 and 3. Even the kids gobbled it up! Got lots of compliments and YUMMY noises too! What's even better is that it cooked while I was at work! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States