Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
This was very hot and spicy, way too spicy for us. However, if you like that, this is a great recipe for you! I even omitted the can of green chile peppers and just used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, instead of a can of whole peeled tomatoes. Maybe it was the enchilada sauce (used a 12 oz. jar from Trader Joe's). We had to add sour cream, and that didnt' help enough, so we added some half and half to cool it down. The baked tortilla strips were a nice touch though, and I will do that again for other soup recipes! I'm rating it a 4 because it's not a bad recipe, just too spicy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I loved this recipe. I left out the Green chiles and added a can of tomato sauce to it but it was Great. Thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Very tasty and easy. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This was a great and easy recipe. However, it was on the spicy side, but that was my fault. I used southwestern seasoning on the chicken and accidently used "hot" enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very good soup. A little spicy but everyone loved it. I have a picky 5 yr. old that tried it and loved it. This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Muy bien! :-) My husband had never tried tortilla soup before and went back for seconds! I used a can of corn (juice and all) instead of frozen corn, and I added a can of Mexican Festival Rotel for added spice & flavor. I also used fully cooked, seasoned, shredded chicken (12 oz.) from the grocery store instead of cooking the chicken myself which saved a lot of prep time. We topped with the tortilla strips (I used red corn tortillas for color) and Mexican blend shredded cheese. It was definitely spicy, but we like it like that. This will be added to my list of perfect foods for a cold day! Thanks Elena! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I really enjoyed this soup - what a kick it has :) I served mine with a dollop of sour cream to take the bite off it but its delicious! A keeper. (I could have taken out the green chillies for less heat but it was still good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This was great! I used only 1/2 tsp of cumin and chili powder so it wouldn't be too hot. And I threw in 2 whole chicken breasts and shredded them after they cooked. (the meat was so tender it just fell apart) My only change in the future will be to use tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas...it would be less work, same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Yum Yum, the family loved it!!! My youngest who is 12 likes to add stuff and be creative with food, a future chef.. anyway she put a dollop of sour cream in her soup and it made it nice and creamy, tasted great that way too. I will eat mine like that from now on. The only thing I wish I would have done is to make a double batch!!!!! Oh, I also thought that throwing in some diced avocado might be tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was so easy to make and very delicious. I think next time I will add some beans to make the soup heartier. My husband, who isn't a soup kind of guy, loved it! I will definitely make this again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e-s-t-a-r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States