Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Absolutely delicious! This recipe was so easy and the flavor was great. The husband and I scarfed it down. This will be our go-to dinner when the weather is chilly. Thanks Elena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Excellent. I added black beans and upped the heat using medium enchilada sauce. Also used low sodium chicken broth in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I SWEAR by this recipe and have shared it with everyone I know! Excellent and authentic tasting, GREAT GREAT GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
The flavor was good, but it was too salty and too spicy for me. I did not add the salt or the green chilies and used half the chili powder. I added some elbow macaroni and chili beans. It thickened up nicely in the slow cooker like a thick chili. Not sure if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I make this recipe all the time. As somebody else recommended, I add frozen chicken breasts instead of the cooked chicken. I also add a can of (drained) white kidney beans or similar for the last hour or so, at the same time as I shred the chicken and add the corn. It is also great for leftovers, no problems freezing it for a fast dinner another time. Thanks for the recipe :-)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
During the worst winter the Midwest has had in many years, my thoughts were "Time goes so fast and it will be spring before we know it. But in the mean time make some soup!" I found this recipe and was everyone's hero. I tweaked it just a little....I had boneless chicken breast that I cut in bite-size pieces and seasoned and browned in a skillet. I added the chicken broth to the pan to catch all the browned bits and then poured in the crockpot.I didn't have the canned chilis so used a can of Rotel tomatoes. I added a can of drained rinsed black beans. Didn't have tortillas so used tortilla chips. Served w/ avocado,cilantro and cheese. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a great,"what do I have in my pantry?" recipe. Didn't have chicken or broth but had a 3.5+lb pork shoulder in my freezer. I seared the pork in garlic salt and chili powder, added heavy dashes of seasoned salt, sea salt and smoked paprika to about 3 cups of water and tossed it in the crock pot. Seared up 3 slices of thick cut bacon and covered the top of the pork with it and added the rest of the drippings to the pot. Cooked on low over night, switching to warm around 4 a.m. Shredded the meat with tongs in the morning. Found some bell pepper/onion mix in my freezer that I sauteed with garlic and cumin then added to the pot. Used canned Mexican corn, seasoned black beans, red enchilada sauce (though considered adding green). Used 2 cans of Ro*tel and added two dried chipotle peppers to the pot. I did time and a half the recipe since there was so much meat. Garnish with cilantro, avocado, sharp cheddar and lime juice. I bought tostadas and Salsa Verde Doritos for garnish, too! I disagree with other reviews that said this was too spicy or too watery. But again, i changed the recipe quite a bit. I do agree, however, with a reviewer who said it doesn't need to be a crock pot recipe. You can EASILY do this on the stove top in 30 minutes. Buy a roasted chicken and shred it up, toss everything else in a stock pot and bring to a boil. The flavors come together nicely once the soup has sat over night as well. Makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was very good!! I used two chicken breasts which I gently boiled before hand... Will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. I did not do it in the slow cooker but I simmered it to perfection in consistency. Husband really loved it. Feel free to tweak to your preferences such as home made this or fresh verses canned that. It is very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States