Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Kimberly Anne ???
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I am making this now as we speak...or should I say, as I type :) anyway, I just tried a piece of chicken from mine and OMG...so absolutely delicious!! The only thing with this recipe however, is it could just as easily be made in a large pot on the stove and be finished in an hour or two as opposed to the 6-8 hours in the slow cooker. I followed the recipe ALMOST exactly (but I may cook a bit of rice and add it to my bowl tomorrow). The few, small changes I made are as follows: using about 1-1/2 pounds of raw chicken breast, instead of using cooked, shredded chicken, I cut it into chunks (I'm not crazy about shredded chicken). I put it in water along with 4 bullion cubes instead of using canned chicken broth. I also made the enchilada sauce using the ten minute enchilada sauce recipe from this site (I like to make whatever I can from scratch instead of buying canned stuff) and chopped up 2 green chili peppers as opposed to can. I also omitted the salt. Other than those minor changes, I followed the recipe exactly. Well really, besides using already cooked chicken, I followed it exactly anyway, just with fresh stuff instead of canned. The only times I've ever had chicken tortilla soup were at Applebees (it comes frozen in a bag and it's good but nothing compared to real tortilla soup) and from a Mexican restaurant called Plaza Azteca. There, they make it per order (at least that's what I was told by a server once) and it was really good. This tastes better than that one but is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
this is a great soup loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was simply amazing. I followed the directions exactly, adding a tiny bit more salt to taste and one small can of Goya black beans. I also only put half the bag of corn in. I'm more of a bean person than a corn person. Those were the only changes I made though. This soup is phenomenal. I cooked mine on HIGH from 4pm to 8:30 and had a late dinner. So good. I put the rest in tall soup containers, one for the refrigerator and the other went into the freezer. Just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I kinda redid this recipe but it was a great start. I work full time with two children, one who is disabled. I am thankful for all the help from people who post recipes and try to cut down on time spent in the kitchen so I can spend it with my family. Make broth and enchilada sauce etc sorry. I also added raw chicken, 2 cans black beans and only chicken broth, no water. Sprinkled a little cheese and warmed chips on top. Family loved it and still had time to play Candyland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this recipe and loved it, but me and my husband both thought it had way too much cilantro! It overpowers the entire soup. I'm doing it without the cilantro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
LOVE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made a few modifications to this based on other reviews, and also used cooked chicken from a rotisserie chicken. Overall this is good! It is pretty spicy for my wimpy taste, but I like it. I cooked on high for about 4 hours and the onion was still crunchy, so I'm cooking it longer as we speak; also added 5 more torn-up corn tortillas just now, hoping to thicken it up a bit. - I added 5 or 6 chopped up corn tortillas when I started cooking. - I added some "better than bouillon" chicken flavoring - I used diced tomateos with chilies (instead of the whole diced tomatoes), but this might have been part of the reason that it turned out pretty spicy for me! - I did not use the can of chilies since I used the tomatoes with chilies - didn't use the corn as I'm not a fan of corn in recipes. I think I will probably make this again, but maybe use the can of mild chilies instead of the tomatoes with chilies, to lessen the spice a bit. I used a can of mild enchilada sauce so I don't think that's where the spice is coming from. By the way, I don't think it tastes like "liquid enchiladas" as other reviews have said. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
It was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteRayla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great taste! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Love it! I added frozen chicken Breasts, HyVee Fire roasted tomatoes w/ garlic, onions & peppers, 32 0z chicken broth (no extra water). I let it cook all day, then shredded the chicken when I got home. I didn't add cilantro on day 1 but did add it to leftovers on day 2 - wow - it was even better. I was lazy & used brighten chips. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States