Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I think this recipe is great! I of course tweaked it a bit. I added I can of corn, one can of black beans, the juice of about 1 lime, and about one tablespoon tapatio. When finished I topped with shredded Mexican cheese, a dallop of sour cream, fresh sliced avocado and crushed tortilla chips on top. Its delicious and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
not too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
The best Chicken Tortilla soup I have ever made. The second time I substituted black beans for corn and added a can of Rotel chilies with cilantro and lime. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor Robinson
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Followed the recipe completely (except no chicken) Family absolutely loved it so much they went back for thirds. Wouldn't change anything about this recipe, and next time will definitely make sure to make enough chicken to add to this dish! Will make again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Absolutely amazing. I made it with very few adjustments. I used homemade chicken broth instead of canned and used twice the amount and only 1 cup of water. I also used homemade stewed tomatoes (which I chopped). I added some black beans, too (my family loves them). I threw the chicken in the pot whole and left it all day on low, pulled it out and shredded it when I got home, added it back in with some cilantro (I used a lot of cilantro - we really like it - about 1/4 of a cup). Gave it a good stir, got the bowls out and served it with a good squeeze of lime (a MUST! Do not skip. I know for Americans this sounds strange, but you will LOVE it.), and little shredded cheese on top (personal preference), a small dollop of sour cream for some of us. My family adds crunched tortilla chips, but I like it without them. This is really amazing soup and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I changed it up a bit. Used half the amount of water and replaced it with more chicken broth. I cooked the chicken in the soup and shredded it when I got home. Before serving I added a handful of crumbled, store-bought, tortilla chips and a couple tablespoons of a mix of shredded mozzarella, Jack and cheddar to each bowl. Filled the bowls with the soup, then topped with chopped avocado, cilantro and some more shredded cheese. Absolutely delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is GREAT!!! you can use any kind of cooked chicken you want. Instead of making the tortillas... I crumble up corn chips over top of prepared bowl, squeeze a little lime in it, and add shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Absolutely the best!!! I have made it several times and so has my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was great. Made enchilada sauce using recipe from other rater (ancho chilis...). No water...extra chicken broth. Will not use as much tomato next time. This was really good. Can make spicier by adding extra chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Use Rotel for the chopped green chilis. Use crushed tomatoes instead of peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States