Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by OkieDirt
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is a easy soup recipe with great favors. Anytime my husband says, "this is really good", I give 5 stars. Not only is the soup a beautiful color with the enchilada sauce added but all the ingredients compliment each other perfectly. (I added a picture that proves it's beautiful color.) Even though this is a slow cooker recipe, I decided on this recipe last minute and made it up in a flash. Even without this stewing in the crock pot for hours there was no disappointment. Note: the corn tortilla strips also turned out yummy. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil just because that is my oil of choice. Don't skip out on making these! They just add something special and even stay fairly crunchy in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieDirt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
We enjoyed this dish. I chose to make it on the stove-top and it turned out just as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abaguimy
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Delicious I added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Chowdhury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This soup was delicious! I took the advice of other review-writers, and cooked two large whole boneless chicken breasts in the crock pot to save time. I removed them about 30 min. prior to serving the soup, shredded the chicken, and returned the shredded chicken to the mixture to simmer for the last 30 minutes or so. I like a heartier broth, so I replaced the 2 cups of water with 2 additional cups of chicken broth. I didn't have fresh cilantro, so I used dried cilantro. It was good, but I'm sure the soup would be even better with fresh, if available. The crispy tortilla strips that topped off each bowl definitely added flavor. I didn't need to leave them in the oven as long as specified- watch these closely so they don't burn! My mother ate our leftover soup during a visit, and asked for the recipe to make it herself. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This was just as good as the reviews state, which frankly suprised me from the simple ingredients. I stayed pretty true to the recipe, but did add one fun enhancement: I bought a package of chicken thighs to use for the shredded chicken. Instead of cooking and shredding them ahead of time, I trimmed the skin and fat off them and set that aside, and just cooked the thighs in the soup, removing and shredding the meat near the end. But the really fun part was that I chopped the chicken skin/fat into bits, and then rendered it in a pan. Once the skin bits started to get brown, I removed them to a plate, and then used the chicken schmaltz in the pan to fry the tortillas in. Afterwards, I saved the remaining schmaltz for another use, and then put the skin bits back into the pan to finish frying them. Fry them until they are a dark golden brown and very crisp. You can sprinkle them on top of the soup, with the tortillas, or on top of salad instead of bacon bits, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I loved it. I've never tried chicken tortilla soup before but it reminded me of vegetable soup the only difference is the little spice and the chicken. The only thing I would change is when baking the tortilla the recipe calls for 10-15 minutes (my burnt within that time). 5 minutes was good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This is my go to for tortilla soup, I absolutely love it and so does the family. I use the HATCH enchilada sauce with green chiles so it is nice and blended. I usually buy a roasted chicken from the grocery store and shred it, just one less step I guess. We top it with avocado and Jack cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Wonderful soup! We usually skip the tortilla part and just do the soup. Very delicious and very easy. I love a recipe that calls for whole conatiners of items. 1 can of this 1 can of that, dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
First time making homemade soup, and this was a good choice. I used a rotisserie chicken to save time. It smelled so delicious slow cooking all evening! I would suggest keeping a close eye on the tortilla strips baking in the oven, mine were done long before the 10-15 minutes listed on the recipe.....and they added a nice crunchy garnish to the soup. I also took the suggestion from another reviewer, and added a squirt of lime and some shredded cheese (I have used reduced fat sharp cheddar, and 4 cheese Mexican, and loved each bowl) on top before serving. This soup was worth the wait, will make again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States