Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This soup is wonderful! It is a staple in our house now, thanks! I almost have it memorized, so now I can make it without checking back AND when I am at the store I automatically know if I need anything to make it. I usually don't add any water, just all broth. My husband is hispanic, so he needs his beans, lol! That said I typically cook up some beans the night before and add about 1 cup to the soup. I typically add diced tomatoes just cause I have them around the house. I always throw the chicken in frozen, it shreds beautifully when done cooking. Other than that I keep it pretty much the same. I sometimes use corn, or depending on the mood I throw whatever veggies I have on hand. I made it with frozen peas once and I was concerned that it would be gross but it came out just great. I don't think there is any way to mess this one up. Simple and worth it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
amazing!!!! the whole family enjoyed it even my 4year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yummm!I'm Not A Cook And Even I Pulled This Off! Except ICooked It Over The Stove. I Boiled The Chicken And Onions First, TheN Added The Rest Later. I SubstitutedA Cup Of Water With More Chicken Broth, Added Some Black Beans, And Used Tortilla Chips From The Bag. SoOo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Definitely cook the chicken in the soup. I thought this was good, not great. Will make again, but will "spice" it up a little more and add black beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I found this recipe over three years ago…I’ve made it multiple times without straying off course of its original recipe. It’s awesome…beloved by all and great for a cold winter day. Make it initially by way of the instructions before manipulating it…so good. I’ve added more “heat” by way of spices and added more chicken…everyone loves it. It’s a staple dish in my house along with chili, chowders and soups. So good. As I write this review a batch is cooking up during our Nor’Ester… Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Alright, I have 4 semi-picky kids including one that is gluten intolerant and another that has food texture issues due to autism and this was a hit! Not too spicy, not too bland. I had to omit cumin because I ran out, added more chili powder, added black beans, and used shredded rotisserie chickens because that is what I had available. Served with a little shredded cheese and tortilla chips (kids love dipping). Hit with the adults, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have tried so many different tortilla soup recipes, trying to find one my family will like. This one was simple and so flavorful...and EVERY ONE of my kids loved it! In fact the next day one of my girls asked if there were any leftovers for lunch. I finally found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Awesome! Will make frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe was simple and delicious. I even went as far as to just grab a rotisserie chicken and toss it in- 10 mins prep time, easy. After a little too much red wine, we didn't end up eating it until the next afternoon, the extra time did nothing but good for it. Came in from work and it was done and ready. Added avocados and tossed in some tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
So easy to make & so delicious! Best Chicken Tortilla Soup I have ever tasted in any restaurant or anywhere! Try it, you will like it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States