Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is one of our go to recipes at our house! I make a few changes, but they are just based on my families taste preferences. - use two cans of rinsed black beans instead of corn -sub water for chicken broth -sub crushed tomatoes for whole peeled The last thing we do that I think really makes it a hearty soup instead of a watery one is we add rice. Once everything is cooked I add a cup to a cup and a half of minute brown rice and cook it for 10 additional minutes. It absorbs a lot of the liquid so we've played with the quantity. Like I said very good recipe! This is just how we tailor it for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made it today.. Got a plain roasted chicken from Sprouts pulled it apart and followed the rest of the recipe then added black beans. Was good! And I had to cook it on high in 3 hours. Still was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Muller Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very delicious! One time I had no cilantro so I used lime juice and basil. Was still good! My husband asked me to make it a regular meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
One of my husbands favorites! A quick short cut: I use a whole rotisserie chicken (pre cooked) or 2 chickens if you like extra meat. I also buy the salad tortilla strips from the salad isle. Enjoy. Fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I love the tenderness of the chicken - it falls right apart, but the flavors weren't developed enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Have made this multiple times and family loves it and requests that I make it regularly. I use Trader Joe's canned chicken - 2 containers of it due to my teenage boys appetites; it makes it a little more hearty. They also like to add chopped green onions, sour cream and grated sharp cheddar as toppings. Although making your tortilla strips from corn tortillas is more time consuming; it is worth it. You can always shortcut by purchasing those or crumbling regular tortilla chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Made this for my SO and his buddies and it was a huge hit, which is high praise considering he grew up around authentic Mexican cuisine (and is very skilled at cooking it himself). Add a little salt to the tortilla strips before popping them in the oven, and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is my daughter's most favorite soup! She even requested it for her graduation open house. The only thing I different was I used fresh boneless/skinless chicken breasts instead of the cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebesewing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
not my cup of tea, it was too spicy it was like a hot sauce soup which I should have known looking at the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
My whole family loved this soup! I didn't cook the chicken first, I just added frozen chicken breasts. I shredded the chicken right before I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States