Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. Great because its so easy to prepare, and because it tastes fantastic. With that said, after making this recipe a couple times, I tuned a bit to my tastes. It is a tad watery, isn't spicy enough for me, and could be tad bolder IMO. So, here's the changes I made. I use 3 chicken breasts, or about 1 1/2 lbs worth. Also, I add three fresh diced jalapenos to give it a little kick. Double the enchilada sauce(my local grocery only carries mild) and use two cans of diced green chiles instead of one. Instead of adding the two cups of water, I just dump in a second can of chicken broth. Lastly, I throw in a packet of taco seasoning. Now we're talking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very delicious. Not as thick as a more traditional tortilla soup but a delicious broth based soup. My family loves it and super easy to make. I did read through other reviews and added a can of black beans as suggested and used lime juice. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made the recipe, as written, leaving it to slow-cook for for nearly 8 hours. It was OK, but seemed a bit sweet than I like. Reading through the ingredients again, the only thing I can figure is that my corn must have been the culprit, or maybe the enchilada sauce. If I were to make this again, I'd reduce the amount of corn by a third, and use taco seasoning rather than enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This soup is very good! The only change I made is that I only added 1 cup of water, and I am glad I did. It would have been to soupy for my tastes had I added 2 cups. Other than that I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is my go-to chicken tortilla soup recipe. I add a can of black beans and a can of corn, rather than the frozen corn. Serve with lemon or lime wedges, crush some tortilla chips into it and add some sour cream before serving. You can also add some shredded cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
After a little tweaking to better suit my own preferences I really liked this soup. I don't like anything too spicy so I cut out the chili peppers and cut down on the chili powder and cumin. I also added more chicken broth. I was nice to let it set in the crock pot all day and come home to a great smelling house and some tasty food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I liked this recipe a lot and some of my family asks about when I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
So easy and good! I have used frozen and thawed chicken breasts and it works both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Love this recipe. I use 2 extra cups of chicken broth instead of the 2 cups of water. It's my go-to recipe when I'm having a bunch of people over and I don't want to slave away on a dinner for hours. I also add some black beans to add a bit more protein to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States