Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Absolutely delicious!! I didnt change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettycrockertammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Eh, ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
If I could give this 10 stars I would. We LOVE this recipe. It is so easy and versatile. You can use any pieces of chicken or even a rotis chicken if short on time. Very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Tried this for tonight for dinner. Wasn't as good as I expected, but my husband loved it. I made it exactly as specified but it had too much tomato for my personal taste. I may make it again, but cut down on the tomatoes, maybe use fresh tomatoes instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
A good basic start, but we New Mexicans make this dish a bit differently. Another review said the soup was watery so the best way to fix this is to crush up some tortilla chips and cook them in the soup to act as a thickening agent. I too put in frozen chicken breasts and shredded them just before serving. We also use pinto beans rather than corn, so throw a can of drained pintos in just a bit before serving. Throw on a bit of shredded cheddar cheese, a couple of avocado slices and garnish with chopped cilantro and crushed tortilla chips and you have a great main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
My family request this often. The recipe is perfect without changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Recipe looks really good but too much usage of canned products .. can anyone please guide me how to alter the canned ingredients with the fresh ones I mean in which quantity should we be using homemade enchilada sauce ,fresh tomatoes and the chicken broth? Thanx in advance guys:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I make this almost every Sunday and eat it for lunch throughout the week. I don't use a slow cooker or chicken breasts. To make this more economical (and tastier), I use about 1.5 lbs chicken drumsticks or legs. Heat a bit of oil in a stock pot, salt and pepper the chicken, and brown it (~6 minutes, then turn for another 6 minutes). Throw all the soup ingredients in (plus a can of black beans). I also do not use water, I use chicken broth for the entire amount of liquid called for in the recipe. Simmer for however long you'd like. I usually do 2 hours. Then,remove the chicken with tongs, place on cutting board and shred with a fork or your hands, removing the fatty skin and then throwing the chicken from the bone back in the soup. Let simmer another hour and it's done. Really great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I love this soup! My family loves this soup! I use chicken, tomatoes and chicken broth that I have canned in quart jars, so I double the recipe and freeze half for later. I also like to add a 15 oz. can (two if doubling) of black beans. Don't skip the fresh cilantro! It makes a big difference in the flavor. I turns out almost like a stew rather than soup. We just crumble a couple tortilla chips on top of the soup rather than bake the tortillas and cut them up. Although I am sure it would be delish, I have never added cheese, avocado or lime. Just stir a little dollop of sour cream in. Yummy! Side note: The rest of my family would not agree, but I actually prefer a bit less chicken than called for. If making this to suit my taste, I would probably use only half the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This was delicious it's too bad my husband didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States