Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
So so delicious !! One of our favorite meals !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
We loved this recipe, I don't recommend cooking for 8 hours. Should've turned it off after 6.5/7 hours. I also put the chicken in raw, not cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used this recipe as a "base" to clean out some pantry items. Great results for my first try at tortilla soup! It made me think of Boston Market's tortilla soup, which I haven't had in years. I used can corn instead of frozen. I did not have canned tomatoes on hand, but subbed in three fresh, peeled tomatoes. I "made" enchilada sauce out of a can of mild Rotel tomatoes, red pepper flakes, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, and canola oil, which I blended down in a 2 cup measuring cup using an immersion blender. I added the suggested can of black beans mentioned by other reviewers (another pantry item utilized!). Also, I did not want to use 1/2 of a 32 ounce container of broth, so I used the whole container to boil my chicken breasts, pouring all of the liquid into the slow cooker and omitting the 2 cups water. We served it with tortilla chips from Costco that we had on hand. And, I didn't have a bay leaf or cilantro, but it still came out great. It really helped me knock out a few extras I had laying around with tremendous results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Great recipe for picky eaters. Season it mildly then everyone can add their own zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I am IN LOVE with this soup!! Followed this recipe almost to a tee. I omitted 1/2 tsp of salt, added 2 cups of drained black beans that had been cooked from a previous dinner, and added 2 extra cloves of garlic. I ended up using 3 raw chicken breasts and cooked the whole deal in a cast iron dutch oven on my stove for 6-8 hrs at around 2-low temp. Shredded the chicken about 3-4 hrs in. My whole house smelled amazing! I followed the directions for the tortilla strips exactly and they turned out great! When it was serving time, I placed a few strips in the middle of the bowl with a dollop of sour cream in the center, cilantro for garnish, a couple slices of avocado and a squeeze of fresh lime juice. Absolutely scrumptious!! I wanted to eat the whole pot! Thank you, thank you! I will make this over and over again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Fantastic and easy. There's not much more to it. I had this in for 6 hours exactly. Started with frozen chicken tenders, which I shredded at about the 4-hour mark. Am VERY excited to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Took shortcut by using Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies. This was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Great recipe!!! My family loved it! The ease of using a slow cooker and canned enchilada sauce...I never expected it to turn out as yummy as it did. Wouldn't change a thing!!! Perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as described and it ended up incredibly watery. If I were to make it again I would leave out all of the water and use maybe half of the chicken broth. I'm pretty disappointed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I am a person who loves flavorful dishes. I found this recipe while looking for crock pot recipes. This in my opinion is absolutely the best soup I have every had in my life (I'm 47). My wife made this and the only modification made was that instead of 2 cups of water we used the broth created from cooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefmeister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States