Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This was super delicious and would make time and time again. Just would add avocado slices and a squeeze of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Super tasty. I forgot to buy tortilla chips, so I cut wheat tortillas into strips, sprayed them with olive oil spray, and baked them for about 10 min at 400 degrees. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this in my crock pot on low 8 hours. I used 4 cups chicken broth and added 2 cups water with 2 tablespoons chicken base. I added the 2 cups because I wanted to add 2 yellow squash and 1 zucchini sliced to the soup. The soup turned out great and by son liked it. I used On the Border tortilla chips instead of making chips for the soup. I would recommend this recipe to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My son thought it was very similar to Chili's. It was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyFitz46
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Should've added beans - and not burned the tortillas! I used extra chili powder for some necessary heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyFitz46
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NaTrillo
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Delicious!! I've been searching for a good tortilla soup (for my hubby) and my hunt stops here. We both loved this soup - thanks for the recipe! Only change I made- cut the onions in big chunks (my husband does not like onions...but I wanted them in there for flavor). Before serving, I added Monterey Jack cheese to the bowl and topped with broken potato chips (in lieu of the tortillas). Wonderful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaTrillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kimberly Anne ???
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I am making this now as we speak...or should I say, as I type :) anyway, I just tried a piece of chicken from mine and OMG...so absolutely delicious!! The only thing with this recipe however, is it could just as easily be made in a large pot on the stove and be finished in an hour or two as opposed to the 6-8 hours in the slow cooker. I followed the recipe ALMOST exactly (but I may cook a bit of rice and add it to my bowl tomorrow). The few, small changes I made are as follows: using about 1-1/2 pounds of raw chicken breast, instead of using cooked, shredded chicken, I cut it into chunks (I'm not crazy about shredded chicken). I put it in water along with 4 bullion cubes instead of using canned chicken broth. I also made the enchilada sauce using the ten minute enchilada sauce recipe from this site (I like to make whatever I can from scratch instead of buying canned stuff) and chopped up 2 green chili peppers as opposed to can. I also omitted the salt. Other than those minor changes, I followed the recipe exactly. Well really, besides using already cooked chicken, I followed it exactly anyway, just with fresh stuff instead of canned. The only times I've ever had chicken tortilla soup were at Applebees (it comes frozen in a bag and it's good but nothing compared to real tortilla soup) and from a Mexican restaurant called Plaza Azteca. There, they make it per order (at least that's what I was told by a server once) and it was really good. This tastes better than that one but is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
this is a great soup loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was simply amazing. I followed the directions exactly, adding a tiny bit more salt to taste and one small can of Goya black beans. I also only put half the bag of corn in. I'm more of a bean person than a corn person. Those were the only changes I made though. This soup is phenomenal. I cooked mine on HIGH from 4pm to 8:30 and had a late dinner. So good. I put the rest in tall soup containers, one for the refrigerator and the other went into the freezer. Just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I kinda redid this recipe but it was a great start. My comment is for the reviewers that don't have a life. I work full time with two children, one who is disabled. I am thankful for all the help from people who post recipes and try to cut down on time spent in the kitchen so I can spend it with my family. Make broth and enchilada sauce etc sorry. I also added raw chicken, 2 cans black beans and only chicken broth, no water. Sprinkled a little cheese and warmed chips on top. Family loved it and still had time to play Candyland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States