Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Taylor Robinson
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Followed the recipe completely (except no chicken) Family absolutely loved it so much they went back for thirds. Wouldn't change anything about this recipe, and next time will definitely make sure to make enough chicken to add to this dish! Will make again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Absolutely amazing. If you are looking for a creamy chicken tortilla soup like you get in an American restaurant, this is NOT for you. This is authentic and it is the way it is supposed to taste and it is SO GOOD. But know what your expectations are and look at the ingredients list (if you want a thick soup, this obviously isn't it)! I made it with very few adjustments. I used homemade chicken broth instead of canned and used twice the amount and only 1 cup of water. I also used homemade stewed tomatoes (which I chopped). I added some black beans, too (my family loves them). I threw the chicken in the pot whole and left it all day on low, pulled it out and shredded it when I got home, added it back in with some cilantro (I used a lot of cilantro - we really like it - about 1/4 of a cup). Gave it a good stir, got the bowls out and served it with a good squeeze of lime (a MUST! Do not skip. I know for Americans this sounds strange, but you will LOVE it.), and little shredded cheese on top (personal preference), a small dollop of sour cream for some of us. My family adds crunched tortilla chips, but I like it without them. This is really amazing soup and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I changed it up a bit. Used half the amount of water and replaced it with more chicken broth. I cooked the chicken in the soup and shredded it when I got home. Before serving I added a handful of crumbled, store-bought, tortilla chips and a couple tablespoons of a mix of shredded mozzarella, Jack and cheddar to each bowl. Filled the bowls with the soup, then topped with chopped avocado, cilantro and some more shredded cheese. Absolutely delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is GREAT!!! you can use any kind of cooked chicken you want. Instead of making the tortillas... I crumble up corn chips over top of prepared bowl, squeeze a little lime in it, and add shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Absolutely the best!!! I have made it several times and so has my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was great. Made enchilada sauce using recipe from other rater (ancho chilis...). No water...extra chicken broth. Will not use as much tomato next time. This was really good. Can make spicier by adding extra chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Use Rotel for the chopped green chilis. Use crushed tomatoes instead of peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Wow, great recipe! I adjusted just a few things. I put a lot more fresh cilantro in than the recipe called for. I added a small can of black chili beans. Instead of the two cups water, I used the chicken broth...no water. I used a fresh green chili instead of can. When serving I added cheese, and sour-cream to each bowl. I also used store bought tortilla chips..fast and easy. My daughter added crushed red pepper to her bowl for some added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I really loved this recipe. I used too much dried cilantro though. Added sour cream directly to the soup and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was surprisingly easy despite the long ingredient list. Everyone in the house loved it! I'm thinking of trying a variation where instead of soup it's taco/enchilada stuffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RC Craigo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States