Slow Cooker Chicken Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Wow! this is delicious!!! Finally found a chicken taco filling my family all agree on. The only change I made was not using jalapenos, red pepper flakes & I only used a half can of chipotle peppers as others suggested. (we're wimps when it comes to spicy) It had just enough spice for us! I liked this before I even added chorizo it had a good flavor, the chorizo (which was the spicy one) made it taste even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pandoraly
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
DELICIOUS! I did make a slight alteration since I was afraid of the heat - I omitted the red pepper flakes and only used 1 jalapeño - and the heat is definitely manageable. Next time I will use 2 jalapeños and I think it will be perfect for my taste buds. This recipe is pretty average until you add the chorizo and then, BAZINGA!, flavor overload. I served it between stacked tostadas, layered with "mexican mix" shredded cheese, chopped tomato, sliced avocado, and lite sour cream. An amazingly delicious dinner. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Tasty after the burning sensation subsides... Followed it without any modifications. Not sure if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
ACK. SO SPICY. Even without the jalepenos and the chili flakes! I think with 1/3 of the chilis in adobo, this would have been really good. As I made it, it was so spicy as to be practically inedible without a lot of sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I did'nt add the chorizo sausage . I used six chicken breast. You must love spicy. I could use some suggestions. On how to serve this dish. I served it on tortillas. It was very messy. I will would fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Very good and easy! Thought it would be very spicy, but even with the jalapenos and the adobo it was not. Used as quesadilla filling and it was delicious with avocado and cilantro sour cream. Also as soft taco filling. Used leftovers as chili base with black beans and corn. Served with rice, cheese, chips and other toppings. It was GREAT!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
So good! Followed the recipe did not make any changes, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Excellent! Left out the jalapeño and red pepper flakes for the kids sake. (next time we will add it to get the full kick) Thanks for a new slow cooker recipe, this will become a regular for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe! I omitted the jalapeño and red pepper flakes. I only used 3 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (seeded) and 3 boneless, skinless chicken breast only because my husband and son don't like things as spicy as I do. I also added 1/4 cup chicken broth. I served it with a tostada with homemade refried beans smeared over it and chopped green leaf lettuce and tomatoes for garnish. I also included a side of avocado slices. My husband put shredded Mexican cheese on his as well. He loved it so much he ate 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
great for tostadas! Used about 1/3 of the chipotle peppers, left out jalapenos, chili powder, red pepper flakes and chorizo and it became a kid friendly version! A little less fat by leaving out chorizo if you're going for healthier! I always made this over the stove and never thought about putting it in a slow cooker! Amazing! Thanks for the idea! Time saver deluxe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States