Slow Cooker Chicken Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This was good, I'll make it again! I used 5 big chicken breasts so I doubled the recipe for sauce and only partially deseeded the chipotle peppers, plus I used spicy chorizo. To account for this extra spiciness, I didn't add the jalapeno or red pepper flakes and it was PLENTY spicy! I brushed tortilla shells with a bit of oil and baked on cookie sheets at 400 for 5 mins, flipped them, and then three more mins. The were light and crispy. I served the shells topped with shredded iceberg lettuce, chicken tinga, chopped tomato, avocado, cilantro, sour cream and Mexican RIce III from this site. Most delicious! Next time I'm not sure if I'll bother cooking the chorizo beforehand and just throw it in from the beginning to make it an easier crock pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So good, recipe is perfect. Not difficult to make at all. 5 stars all the way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Very yummy recipe! My husband was very pleased with it. I only used have of the peppers because i was afraid it was gonna be too spicy which wasn't the case but I'm making again fully loaded, I'm sure it will be flavorful! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was great and easy to whip up, the family said it was tasty too. We will be enjoying the leftovers on nachos tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maya
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was a nice change for our standard Taco Tuesday dinner night. Topped with lettuce, chopped cherry tomatoes, shredded cheese, cilantro, guacamole, and plain Greek yogurt (instead of sour cream). Were it not for the toppings, this might have been a little too spicy for us (& we love hot & spicy) but the toppings helped cool the heat plus the cherry tomatoes added a touch of sweetness that paired well with the spicy heat. My only complaints are: 1) chorizo is VERY greasy, even when well-drained, but that's just how chorizo is so it wouldn't be fair to take away a star just for that. Next time, I'll halve the amount of chorizo, just for my personal health preferences. 2) I'm not a fan of having to use a skillet pan when prepping a slow cooker meal, esp. when the recipe adds this extra step midway through the cooking time. The beauty of crockpot cooking is being able to just throw everything in and have it ready by dinnertime, so to make this easier, I put everything in the crockpot except the chorizo and onion (& used frozen chicken breasts directly from the freezer) and let it cook during the day. Right before dinner, while crisping up the tostada shells in the oven, I cooked the chorizo and onions in my skillet and stirred it into the chicken mixture right before serving. I also cheated by using dried minced onions since I didn't feel like chopping up an onion. Faster and easier to make this way & every bit as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Wow! this is delicious!!! Finally found a chicken taco filling my family all agree on. The only change I made was not using jalapenos, red pepper flakes & I only used a half can of chipotle peppers as others suggested. (we're wimps when it comes to spicy) It had just enough spice for us! I liked this before I even added chorizo it had a good flavor, the chorizo (which was the spicy one) made it taste even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pandoraly
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
DELICIOUS! I did make a slight alteration since I was afraid of the heat - I omitted the red pepper flakes and only used 1 jalapeño - and the heat is definitely manageable. Next time I will use 2 jalapeños and I think it will be perfect for my taste buds. This recipe is pretty average until you add the chorizo and then, BAZINGA!, flavor overload. I served it between stacked tostadas, layered with "mexican mix" shredded cheese, chopped tomato, sliced avocado, and lite sour cream. An amazingly delicious dinner. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Tasty after the burning sensation subsides... Followed it without any modifications. Not sure if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sweets Melgar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
ACK. SO SPICY. Even without the jalepenos and the chili flakes! I think with 1/3 of the chilis in adobo, this would have been really good. As I made it, it was so spicy as to be practically inedible without a lot of sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I did'nt add the chorizo sausage . I used six chicken breast. You must love spicy. I could use some suggestions. On how to serve this dish. I served it on tortillas. It was very messy. I will would fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States