Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Tried it last night and loved it. Lots of flavour and very tender chicken. As other reviewers suggested, I added 1 cup of uncooked minute rice to the slow cooker for the last 10 minutes, and it soaked up all the extra liquid. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic and 1 tsp chili powder. Skipped the cream cheese step because my husband is lactose intolerant and served it with grated sharp cheddar on the side. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used the salsa I had on hand instead of the dip suggested as well as twice the chicken...thinking that is why it came out a little bland...regardless this is a great basic recipe to add to...so easy in the slow cooker...I ate it with chips and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was simply amazing! The only thing I did differently was that I used whatever salsa I had on hand and just added some chili powder to the chicken itself. I also left out the corn and didnt use guacamole. (we dont like it in our house.) Definately a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Made this tonight and it came out fantastic. Made it with Spanish rice. Also added about a half cup of white onions, 11/2 teaspoons of cumin, and 11/2 teaspoons chili powder. Didn't use the cream cheese because I felt that was weird and replaced it with a Mexican cheese mix. Also served with chopped red onions and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Three Bridges, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made slow cooker chicken tacos tonight and they were excellent made exactly as the recipe says. They were delicious. We fed 3 adults tonight and have enough taco meat for about 12 tacos so we have leftovers. Served on flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was delicious! A few of the reviews mentioned that it was a bit runny, so I rinsed and drained the black beans and stuck with Wholly Salsa (seemed thicker than salsa from a jar). The resulting consistency was perfect. I used 1.5 lbs chicken breasts and topped each taco with a dollop of sour cream in lieu of the cream cheese, plus Wholly Guacamole, which this recipe was clearly designed for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe!!!! I precooked my breasts for 25 min at 325 to speed up the process a little, was running behind! I added a little more salsa and a small can of jalapenos......:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I am not sure why so many people complained about it being runny, I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. I did rinse the beans only because it would be too salty otherwise, and maybe that is why ours turned out perfect. I cook a lot and have never used undrained beans so I just assumed I was supposed to drain them. I always try the recipe as written before making changes, and this one is five stars as is. If I make changes the next time it would only be to add fresh garlic and maybe garnish with cilantro. This is going in my recipe rotation for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Instead of cream cheese I used Mexican cheese mix. Also put in one sliced onion, chili peppers; and used Spanish rice (Knorr mix) instead of white rice. Really great meal with cornbread to watch football game with group. Put extra pico de gallo and guacamole on side to use as toppings for tacos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe was amazing. All I did different was upped the sizes, used more chicken for more servings and so on. I also just used whatever brand salsa. Threw some chilli powder, and garlic powder in. Had friends sop by and we had plenty to feed everyone, and we have so much leftover. Didn't really need to double it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlettsmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States