Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I really wanted to like this recipe, but my version turned out awful and inedible. It doesn't taste at all like real stroganoff. It is extremely salty and the Italian dressing leaves a weird aftertaste. In addition, by cubing the chicken before cooking and putting it in with no liquid, after just a few hours (I gave it 3.5 hours) the chicken is tough and unpleasant (most slow cooker recipes work better by using frozen raw chicken breasts submerged in liquid and shredded right before eating). I do take some responsibility for changing the recipe--I like a lot of sauce, so I doubled the sauce ingredients (twice the cream cheese, twice the soup, a packet and a half of the seasoning) and added 3/4 of a cup of chicken broth to thin it a bit. The result was initially surprisingly bland (other than the overwhelming salt, and until the aftertaste hits you) and combined with the bad cooking of the chicken just inedible. My family and I ended up throwing out the whole pot and eating something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
A little salty!!! Harold liked....I added milk to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
It is fantastic, but it did not tell you about the Noodles I had to figure it out by myself by the picture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny Hudspeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
it tasted amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This meal was introduced to my husband and me after the birth of our first son, over 5 years ago. It was delicious then and has been in our rotation every since. So simple and comforting. I follow the recipe and add frozen peas to the crock pot for the last 30 minutes. The green peas added bright color to an otherwise plain dish (we serve the stroganoff over a bed of egg noodles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This is one of my family's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Killam
Home Town: Contoocook, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Very good! A family favorite at my house. I cook it using frozen chicken breasts and it still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Keeper... Easy, tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Followed the recipe, subbing butter for margarine and cutting back to 4oz cream cheese + adding 4oz sour cream. The dry Italian dressing mix was lacking in depth of flavor and the cream of chicken soup left the dish taste bland and processed. The smell coming from the crockpot reminded me of a tuna casserole... which is really disturbing. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
My husband and I absolutely love this recipe!! I sauteed some portebella mushrooms and then added them with the cream cheese and soup. Serve it over egg noodles and it really makes a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States