Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This is one of my favorite easy "busy-day" crockpot recipes. I make it Weight Watchers friendly by omitting the butter, adding mushrooms, and 1/2 cup of water, and substituting FF cream cheese and Reduced Fat soup. I serve it over whole wheat noodles or brown rice. Only 5 points per serving plus the points for the noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3058 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This turned out to be a great recipe -- whole family enjoyed it. I, like many other reviewers, was a bit skeptical of combining the chicken w/nothing more than 1/8 c margerine and the dry salad dressing mix, but figured there must be a reason or Judi would not have submitted it this way, so I resisted the urge to add the canned soup in the beginning. I did add a splash of red wine that I had on hand, but other than that, there was very little liquid. Also used Good Seasons Mild Italian dressing mix, since my kids don't like highly spiced food. I turned the crockpot on low and cooked for about 7+ hours, and of course the house smelled incredible. The chicken chunks were golden brown and had a roasted taste and appearance, something that wouldn't have occurred had I added the soup at the beginning. I then added a can of reduced fat cream of chick soup and a brick of red. fat cream cheese. Plopped the brick in whole, covered, then stirred after it had softened. Turned out so delicious, and in no way reduced fat tasting! My 6-year old daughter ate so many "appetizer bites" out of the pot, she was full by dinner time! Very creamy and rich tasting, and the dressing mix provides just the right amount of seasoning. We served over noodles -- delicious! Very easy, tasty recipe -- and seems "fancy" enough for company. Putting this in my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2062 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is the best recipe EVER!! I can't tell you how thrilled I was with how it turned out. I cut down the chicken to 2 very large chicken breasts because my crock pot is only 1 1/2 quarts and it's just me eating (I don't like tons of leftovers), but I left all the other amounts for the sauce the same. I cooked the soup (Campbell's 98% Fat Free), margarine and dressing mix plus 1/4 cup of white wine with the chicken from the beginning, then added 4 tablespoons of 1/3 less fat cream cheese (Neufchatel cheese) and about half a cup of fat free cream cheese. It was fabulous- EXACTLY like Angel Chicken Pasta on this web site, which I love and is my favorite recipe in the world, only less fat, much, much less preparation, and fewer dishes that don't have anything burned or stuck on! I think I'll be making this often now, thank you so much, Judi! Update a while later: this is also awesome with pork chops instead of chicken and I use no butter and half the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
989 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This was the most delicious dinner. I used frozen chicken breasts straight from the freezer to the pot and followed advice from other reviewers: Skipped the margarine, used half of 0.7 oz pkg Italian dressing mix (will use even less next time), 1 can Healthy Request Crm of Chicken soup and 1 can Healthy Request Crm of Mushrom soup thinned with about 3/4 c. milk. I let it cook for about five hours until it was moist and tender, falling apart. Shredded the chicken and then I added 4 oz. 1/3 less-fat cream cheese and about 1/2 c. of sour cream. I let it cook in the crockpot for another 45 minutes to let the flavors blend. Served it over whole wheat egg noodles and it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I love this recipe! I did make a few changes to it. I add the soup into the mixture in the morning with the chiken. When I get home I turn the slow cooker on high and add the sour cream while the egg noodles are cooking! I make this all the time. It is so easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This was FABULOUS!!!! I was in a dinner slump and just joined allrecipes a few days ago. Picked out this recipe after reading all the reviews. I did alter the recipe somewhat after reading the reviews--I put the 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, the butter (yes, I used butter!), 1/2 of the Italian dressing mix packet, 1/4 cup white cooking wine and 1/4 cup chicken broth (I used Herb Ox) in the crock pot and mixed it up. I threw in the frozen chicken breasts and cooked on low for 5 hours. I then shredded the chicken in the crock pot, added softened 4 oz. Neufchatel cheese, and about 1/3 cup of fat free sour cream. It cooked for half an hour on high. When I tasted it, I thought it tasted almost exactly like a pasta dish I always get at the local Italian Restaurant, minus the spiciness. To add a little kick, I threw in some chilipiquin peppers that are growing in my back yard. Served it over wheat egg noodles. EVERYONE in the family loved it!!!!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This was delicious, although I made some variations based on the similar Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff (which I loved) on this site. I added a chopped onion, used only half of the Italian dressing mix packet (0.7 oz.), healthy choice cream of chicken soup, and only half of the cream cheese. I also added about 1/4 cup of milk. These changes made the end result less thick, caloric, and salty. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
talk about easy. I put frozen chicken breasts in, added about 1/2 cup white wine to the butter and italian dressing mix. I then cooked it on low for about 6 hours, put the cream cheese on top, waited about 5 minutes, it was soft enough, put the cream of chicken soup in, and as I was mixing it together, I shredded the chicken at the same time (on purpose) served over egg noodles, hubby even comented on how it was a nice change of pace. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Typically, I make the recipe exactly as written the first time, but I didn't have any cream of chicken soup ... so I used cream of mushroom - YUM! My picky, picky Hubby who doesn't like "white" foods, loved this. My 5-year-old daughter gave it two thumbs and a big toe up! :-) I'm sure no one will read this review, but I wanted to put it out there anyway ... definitely shred the chicken, then there isn't too much sauce and don't be afraid to thin it with some milk. Delicious! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
YUMMY! And so easy! I snuck in a cup of sour cream & 8 oz of cooked egg noodles at the end as well! Great to come home to after a lond day. Good comfort food! Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States