Slow Cooker Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This was excellent! I made it last night. I precooked and de-boned six chicken thighs. Used a reduced-fat mushroom soup (instead of celery) and a can of chicken gravy (instead of the onion soup mix). Had regular potatoes, not red, so I peeled and diced them. An hour before serving I tossed in some frozen mixed veggies, mostly because I didn't feel like peeling carrots! Ended up with a colorful, flavorful stew that got raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This is delicious. After reading previous reviews, I made a few changes. I added mushrooms, substituted cream of mushroom soup for the celery, added a couple celery stalks chopped up, added one more apple (Granny Smith), and used chicken gravy instead of onion gravy (I couldn't find onion gravy at my grocery store). I also used half chicken breast and half chicken thighs. This was very delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This recipe would be much faster if the potatoes were partially pre-cooked, but we (my boyfriend and I) left it all day, so it didn't matter much. Our substitutions and additons were pretty standard: 2 chicken breasts, 3 chopped celery sticks, 1/2 onion, chicken gravy, mushroom soup, 2 cloves garlic. Rather unusual and very interesting, what with all the different textures and flavors. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Oh my!!!!! This was a hit!! I modified it slightly.....added fresh sliced portabello mushrooms, half a bag of frozen broccoli, a half bag of baby carrots (sliced into about 4 or 5 pieces), one sweet potato (bite-sized pieces), added 2 extra apples, 3 extra garlic cloves, and used yukon gold potatoes (bite-sized pieces). I par-boiled the yukon gold potaoes with the sweet potatoes for about 15 minutes before adding them to the slow cooker. I also added about one cup of water and stirred it occasionally for the first few hours. We cooked it for about 10 hours. I was looking for something to make for my 82 year old Dad who's wife has been in the hospital for the past month. He's not used to cooking on his own.....or doing anything on his own, for that matter!! I put this stew in little microwave-safe containers and put it in his freezer for him to take out the night before and put in his fridge to thaw to eat the next day. Well.....he said it's the best stew that he's ever had in his whole entire life....and even though he has other food to eat, he's been taking a bowl of this stew out of his freezer every night after supper for supper the next night.... for the past week!! I asked him if he was getting tired of it yet....and reminded him that he has other food to heat up.....but he said that he looks forward to supper every night since he's had the chicken stew in his freezer. I have to admit...it's the best that I've ever had too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
We have changed the cook time on this recipe from "2 hours" to "6 to 8 hours." - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Lovely recipe, simple and no hassle. My bf and I are big mushroom fans so I substituted cream of mushroom soup and also added sliced mushrooms. With crusty French bread made a wonderful meal for a cold evening and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was SOO tasty!! One of my new favorite dishes I've tried. We had company so I adjusted to serve 9, but put in 3 apples, a half bag of baby carrots and 2 stalks of celery. Everyone raved about it and there weren't any leftovers. Next time I have to get a bigger crock pot so I can make a larger serving size because it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was delicious. I added 2 apples, carrots, celery and sweet potatoes. Be sure to cut them in fairly small pieces so they are fully cooked. The sauce was the perfect consistency. All 4 of my kids liked this - which is a rarity. Next time I will add more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is a very easy and tasty recipe. I have made this 3 different times. It also freezes well so we've had it as left-overs. It's great for warming you on a cold day. The first time I made it, it was too salty. Now I omit salt when I make it. Really best if served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmakaw
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very easy to make, and came out great. Served it over egg noodles with bread and butter. Wonderful on a cold rainy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmakaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States