Slow Cooker Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
Very bland, needs something, I'm not sure what. Potatoes took longer to cook then the rest of the stew. I suggest using less water, the broth was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
We have changed the cook time on this recipe from "2 hours" to "6 to 8 hours." - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Wasn't very good, needs more veggies like carrots and celery, I tried mine over noodles and wasn't alot of flavour....I froze the leftovers and will try them with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
i'm giving this recipe 4 stars b/c i think it's a fab starting point for those of us who are just beginning to use our slow cookers. the apples were lovely and next time i'm going to definitely throw in some celery and carrots and who knows what else. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilsdancefloor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This was excellent! I made it last night. I precooked and de-boned six chicken thighs. Used a reduced-fat mushroom soup (instead of celery) and a can of chicken gravy (instead of the onion soup mix). Had regular potatoes, not red, so I peeled and diced them. An hour before serving I tossed in some frozen mixed veggies, mostly because I didn't feel like peeling carrots! Ended up with a colorful, flavorful stew that got raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I didn't put the apple pieces in it but my husband still begs me to make it for him every day. I've done it without chopping up the chicken first and it worked out great that way too. Great recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I tried this recipe last night and it was yummy - made the whole house smell good too. I did make some variations to the original recipe though; I added a jar of the premade chicken gravy as well as an envelope of dry onion dip mix because I couldn't find the onion gravy mix at my grocery store. I added carrots and celery to the crockpot, and then added a bag of mixed veggies about an hour before serving. Next time I will probably add another apple too. I didn't eat it with rice or noodles because I'm trying to keep my carbs down but it was a very good veggie filled stew. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This wasn't too bad. I made a few tweaks based on other reviews and past experiences. I definitely have more ideas for the next time. I used chicken breasts with the bone and skin, sauteed in a couple of Tbsp. olive oil and garlic with garlic salt and pepper, added 1/2 cubed sweet potato, celery, and baby carrots. I used Lipton golden onion soup mix, added another 1/2 c water (total 1c water) and a can of chicken broth. You have to make sure your meat is covered in sauce if you cook it for 12 hrs on low (I commute). I didn't have italian seasoning, so I used parsley and a dash of chili powder. The meat fell off the bone and was not too dry. I couldn't taste the apple, so next time I will use 2, and probably use granny smith instead of red. I couldn't even taste the cream of celery either so I might not use it next time. I found that it didn't have as much flavor as I usually expect from pot roast or stew. A little more salt helped, though. It was probably too diluted with the extra water. Next time, I will add more salt/seasoning, maybe even some chicken boullion. All in all, a good base recipe to build on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was SOO tasty!! One of my new favorite dishes I've tried. We had company so I adjusted to serve 9, but put in 3 apples, a half bag of baby carrots and 2 stalks of celery. Everyone raved about it and there weren't any leftovers. Next time I have to get a bigger crock pot so I can make a larger serving size because it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I have the pickest husband ever so I changed the soup to cream of chicken. I also tried it with the country gravy instead of onion gravy. We really liked it. My potatoes were not done in time allowed. Next time i will put my crock pot on high. I also added peas and corn. Very good. We mixed in rice and my husband raved about it. needed extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States