Slow Cooker Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was disappointing. I did add extra water because it wasn't enough. It just left something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was excellent. The only thing wrong is the water, what is listed isn't nearly enough. We used eight chicken thighs, two cups water and doubled the rest of the recipe (one can cream of celery, one can cream of chicken). The stew was served over rice with fresh rolls, and was delicious! Will be going into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This is delicious. After reading previous reviews, I made a few changes. I added mushrooms, substituted cream of mushroom soup for the celery, added a couple celery stalks chopped up, added one more apple (Granny Smith), and used chicken gravy instead of onion gravy (I couldn't find onion gravy at my grocery store). I also used half chicken breast and half chicken thighs. This was very delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TNociti
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Good, not great, at our house. Everyone at it but no one loved it. May make it again just for a change of pace. However, this review is based on the following changes: used cream of mushroom and brown gravy packet. So the 3 star rating is on my version. If I make again I will try as written since it gets so many great reviews. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was quite good! I doubled the italian seasoning and pepper and I think next time I won't. It was a little over powering. Also, I couldn't taste the apple at all, so next time I'll probably put in 2 or 3 apples. I added carrots and celery and served everything over egg noodles. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by jmakaw
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very easy to make, and came out great. Served it over egg noodles with bread and butter. Wonderful on a cold rainy fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmakaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Good recipe. I made it with home made egg noodles instead of potatoes. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was an okay stew. Some guests liked it but I was not enthusiastic about it. I'm not sure what to change to make it better though. I don't think I'd make it again unless asked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
i personally thought this smelled wonderful, and i did take a very small taste of the broth as it cooked, and thought it was awesome. my son ate up the chicken, and my husband said it was good, but never wanted seconds or leftovers, hence the 4 stars. i used chicken gravy, and more of it, and cream of chicken soup instead of celery. i also added carrots and celery and an extra potato. my hubby did say he thought it needed more salt ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is a very easy and tasty recipe. I have made this 3 different times. It also freezes well so we've had it as left-overs. It's great for warming you on a cold day. The first time I made it, it was too salty. Now I omit salt when I make it. Really best if served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States