Slow Cooker Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Cooked only 3.5 hours and still came out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a great receipe. My family loved it. It was wonderful coming home and having dinner ready. It's definately a keeper. Next time I'll add another apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I doubled the recipe,as others wrote, I sauteed celery with garlic and chicken.Added lots of carrots and extra potatoes. I used 1 can cream of celery and 1 can cream of mushroom. Added 3 granny apples and 2 bay leaves. With all the other ingredients this was a delicious diner . Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Did not like this one at all! Maybe it was me but I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This recipe was delicious! The only thing I changed was to add 1 cup of chicken broth and instead of using bouillon cubes, I used chicken base which is like a paste. Also, the next time, I will add a little less pepper. Otherwise, my husband and friends loved this recipe. I will be taking this to church at our next social.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I agree with the above reviews/suggested alterations. I made this with 2 granny smith apples, substituted reduced fat cream of mushroom soup, added the 1/2 cup red wine, bay leaf, and mushrooms, and substituted lots of carrots for potatoes. The end result was delicious, even my veggie-phobic husband, and my 4 yo daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My husband says this recipe is "scrumptious"! We are always looking for healthy, low calorie comfort food and this, my friends, is it! My version adds a bag of baby carrots and 1/2 cup of red wine, with a package of fresh mushrooms added one hour before cooking is done. I also use dry chicken gravy mix. Delicious! Restaurant quality! One serving (380 grams) is a mere 324 calories. Have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This smelled amazing while cooking up. I added white wine instead of water and minced the onion but followed everything else exactly. Very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was a great stew!! I added some carrots and celery as recommended by other reviews. I will definitely make this again for the cold winter days ahead. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States