Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times, and my whole picky family loves it! I leave out the celery and celery salt and add dried onion and dried minced garlic in place of garlic salt - the condensed soup is salty enough. I find that chicken thighs give a deeper flavor than chicken breast, and we like the texture better as well. I've used red potatoes and Idaho potatoes, peeled and unpeeled. I've used all frozen veggies when I'm in a hurry. I can get this in the crock pot in less than 30 minutes even with chopping and/or peeling potatoes and cutting up the chicken. I haven't tried canned chicken or precooked rotisserie - but I bet they'd be good as well. This is a fool proof, very adaptable recipe, and leftovers are even better the next day. My own personal touch to my plate only is to add lemon juice to the leftovers - like greek lemon chicken soup. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was easy to make and tasted great. Kids loved it. I, too, left out some of the salt this calls for and it was plenty flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was good, but not what I was expecting. I would say it's more like a chicken stew. There's not really anything "pot pie" about it. It was more of a broth than the creamy consistency I would expect in a pot pie. I also used coarse ground pepper which ended up making this very peppery. Just something to be cautious of next time. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This would have been delicious had it not been for the overwhelming amount of salt! Next time I may only use 1 bouillon cube if at all. Also, I highly recommend using a 6.5 quart cooker for this size recipe. 4 qt was too small. I plan to try the recipe again without all the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
What a bummer! I was so excited to find this yummy sounding recipe that required little prep, and didn't require a trip to the store. During my baby's nap, I quickly read the ingredients and threw it all together. Half way through putting in the black pepper, I knew I had made a mistake. A TABLESPOON of pepper?! That is ridiculous! It was completely inedible. I'm so disappointed, because if the spices listed were more accurate, it would have been a good recipe. As it is, I might try to freeze it, and when I buy more ingredients, I'll quadruple the recipe without adding any more spice. Frozen pizza for us tonight, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good but use only the 1 or 2 chicken bouillons. This is a very easy recipe that could be changed in many ways but I went with the this recipe and was very pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
WAY too much pepper in the original, and have switched out 2 of the chicken boullion for 2 vegetable. Also added about a tsp of onion powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KirstenA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bushwood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
After reading the reviews I didn't use any of the added salt and only used 2 bullion cubes. Still a tad salty but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My family loves this recipe, I use less black pepper and less bullion though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I just finished cooking this and with a few changes it is absolutely amazing! I used Garlic Powder instead of Garlic Salt and I did the same with Celery Powder. I only used 2 bouillon cubes. I used 2 cans cream of chicken with one can each cream of mushroom and cream of celery. Everything else was the same... it tastes like home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States