Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious. I did leave out the celery salt and bullion cubes, and substituted garlic powder for the garlic salt. I also cut the pepper back to about a teaspoon and a half. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martin, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I added no bouillon and no extra salt. Added some bottled garlic. But delicious served over a biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Roby Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe. Way too much pepper for my family's taste. Next time I'd decrease the amount of pepper. Other flavors seemed good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very tasty served over buttermilk biscuits. Use 1 can of chicken broth and no bouillon cubes. Thickened with potato buds for a creamier stew. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Lacked some pizzaz. I cut back on the bouillon as suggested but it just seemed to be ok tasting. Not sure if I would make again :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYBJ
Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Everyone loved it. I added 2 bags of frozen veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Don't throw the baby out with the bath water OR in this case the Pot Pie Out w/ the SALT Water. Good news Bad News. Bad News: More salt than is tolerable. Good news: So darn easy to fix. Use only one bouillon cube (OR better yet, 1 t. of "BETTER Than Bouillon" (saves 110 mg sodium PER CUBE & tastes better) For the remaining 5 cubes use Herbox Chicken Bouillon powder. It comes in a jar OR envelopes. You still get good chicken flavor BUT NO SODIUM.(Find them w /the canned soups, top shelf) That way you can adjust the salty taste( and sodium Level) but leave the chicken flavor in tact. Also switch the Garlic salt to Garlic POWDER. you may need to use LESS...about 1/2 For the celery salt,switch to GROUND celery seeds. Again more celery flavor ( using 1/2 amt listed)and much less sodium. The cream of chicken soup has more than 800 mg of sodium, (per serving) so if you love a salty taste, there is plenty of salt in that. Keep in mind also that even "no salt added " broths have over 100 mg sodium PER SERVING and "low sodium broths/ stocks have FAR more sodium than that. As for the rest of the recipe, I add 1 to 2 t. of FRESH thyme leaves (Or 1/4t to 1/2 t. dried thyme....but fresh is far better) I also add in 1/4 to 1/2t. poultry seasoning. Both the FRESH thyme and poultry seasoning add a much more home made taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Yum!!! I made some modifications based on other reviews, didn't add celery salt, only added 2 cb cubes, and I added 8 oz of chicken broth. I also added 4 tlbs minced garlic and increased the pepper to 3 1/2 tlbs. I used rotisserie chicken from Costco cause I didn't have frozen. I drizzled chicken stock on the chicken and let it sit while the other ingredients cooked and added it when there was 1 hour left. I cooked on low for 4 hours. Oh and I didn't add frozen veggies cause I didn't have them. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very good with a few changes. Don't use all those bouillon cubes. I use 2 spoonfulls of the powder chicken base. Not so much pepper either. I also use 3 cans of cream of chicken instead of two. Makes it much thicker if you are going for that pot pie feel. For sure over biscuits is how we do it and my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wurnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salter Path, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
It's great i change it alittle by putting it in a pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States