Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made this recipe according to the instructions and it turned out GREAT! The only thing I did different was cut the pepper amount to one teaspoon instead of one tablespoon due to small kids eating the meal. It was very hearty and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Tastes pretty good and easy to make. I pretty much followed the recipe, except I didn't notice that it called for (2) 26 oz cans of soup, I thought it was 2 of the regular size. So I wound up using 3 regular sized cans. Also, I was out of garlic salt and celery salt so I used garlic powder and celery seed. Good thing because for someone that likes salt, and salts almost everything, this was almost too salty for me because of all the bouillon! And I did use the full tablespoon of pepper and glad I did. I'm not a big fan of pepper but I thought it added a great flavor and it was the perfect amount. Next time I'd love to serve this over biscuits. I thought because there were potatoes it wouldn't need it, but this would have been fantastic over biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I agree with the other reviews, It was too salty and peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved it! So easy to do. Changed it a little, but my hubby and son came back for more...and more.... Instead of 2 tins of chicken soup, I put 1 of chicken and corn and 1 of mushroom. Also halved the bullion, didn't add any salts at all, added an onion, plus an extra tin of water. This made it a bit sloppy, but I just thickened it with a chicken gravy mix and added some two-minute chicken noodles. Everyone walks in from work demanding to know what I've been cooking (and there are 4 kids and a hubby). Definitely a winner in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I changed quite a few things: I used 2 cans cream of chicken, 2 cans cream of celery, 1/2 cup of water, 2 sweet potatoes- cubed, and a generous sprinkling of Mrs. Dash Original Seasoning (No Salt). I guess I came up with a completely different recipe! Towards the end of the cooking -- couple of hours left, I added pearl onions and mixed frozen veggies. Cooking the chicken, soup and potatoes from the get go helped thicken the sauce, and the soup made it creamy and delicious! Before baking my biscuits, I sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on top of them -- so yummy! I did not try the recipe as it is posted because of the reviews, and looking over the ingredients it definitely sounds like it would be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pazand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Excellent. I went lighter on the salt by using low sodium soup and less bullion that called for. I added a bit of garlic and some sage. I served it with biscuits. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
mmm super good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Not bad, I'm not sure if my potatoes were just large, but I used the amount the recipe called for and felt that the mixture didn't have quite enough sauce, so I added a little more soup to mine. It is plenty salty, so I would recommend using less bouillon. I halved the recipe and only needed a cube and this was perfect for me. Very filling and I would imagine this is quite a bit healthier than the average chicken pot pie. Oh, and if you don't want to wait for the crock pot method, I cooked up my chicken and boiled my carrots and potatoes in a separate pot. Then I put the other ingredients in a pot and added the cooked chicken and potatoes, made my biscuits, and then ate it about an hour later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
We try to do low sodium, so I used low sodium soup and eliminated the salts (used garlic powder instead of garlic salt). I added a bit of thyme, because we like that with these kinds of chicken/turkey dishes. We ate this over canned biscuits. It was okay, but no one was excited about it. My daughter seemed to like the potatoes more than anything. We didn't bother with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Excellent and easy recipe. I added cheese sauce at the lat 30 minutes and tastes very good. Also, I have started making with just vegetarian and still it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States