Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I think this is a good idea for a slow cooker meal. It's easily modified to your liking. The cream of chicken adds a lot of salt, so I reduce the number of bouillon cubes to two. Changes I make: garlic powder (not salt); 1 cup diced onion; 1 teaspoon thyme; add only frozen peas, right at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
It was good, but will cut back on the pepper. Too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is so delicious. However I substituted low sodium chicken soup and used garlic powder and celery seeds instead of the salt mixes. I also substitutes low salt bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
My kids loved this! I didn't add the celery salt or the garlic salt because I don't like either. The soup and the boulion cube are more than enough. We used a low sodium cream of chicken soup and that was just enough seasoning for us. I also found that it was watery, so I added some cornstarch to thicken it up an make it closer to the consistency of chicken pot pie. I also added ALOT of veggies. The kids really, really liked it. It tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Woods Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I cooked this on low instead of high for 5 hours, and still found that it stuck to the sides and needed a little more moisture. I also cut down on the cubes, using 2 instead of 6. Also used minced garlic instead of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn McGuinness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
it was delicious & easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Halstead
Home Town: Middlefield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was salty! I did not make it, I had it at a dinner party this weekend. The host showed us this recipe and said he followed it to a T. None of the guest finished it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
As someone who loves salt & pepper, this was overpowering! I even cut the bouillon cubes in half & all you can taste is salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Tasty recipe. I adjusted the recipe to feed four people then doubled the chicken and potatoes. I also omitted the frozen veggies and added canned creamed corn. Since there were a few things in this recipe that were salty already, I used a little less chicken bullion than suggested. Overall it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I wish I would have read the reviews of this before I made it. It seemed like it was going to be super salty so I used just some chicken broth and put in one bouillon cube. I really wish I would have cut back on the pepper-- no need for a sweat lodge after eating this with a whole tbsp of pepper. I added some fresh herbs from the garden and a half cup of white wine at the end. I didn't use the frozen veggies at all. I will make this basic recipe again with some major modifications. Tweak it to your own taste and it should be fine-- very quick and easy to make, that is for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States