Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
amazing recipe. i followed this recipe pretty closely, only leaving out any and all things celery (gross!) and only used 1 bullion cube. served over grands biscuits. de-lish! just finished some leftovers for lunch and i think it might even have been better the 2nd day. thickened up a bit more. this would be amazing to use to make an actual pot pie. will FOR SURE be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Justice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Great recipe. I only used 1 bouillon cube and 1 can of low sodium chicken broth as well as some fresh garlic and dried rosemary. I served it with cornbread....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Just made it for the first time and loved it !! I put whole chicken breast in and the shredded the chicken when it was done . I would agree with others and use less bullion . And I didn't use celery salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I'm giving 4 stars because I did use the reviews to change this recipe. I used minced garlic and some powder instead of garlic salt and used a pinch of celery seed instead of the celery salt. I shook in pepper to taste- nowhere near 1 tablespoon and I only used 1 big bouillon cube. I added some chopped onion that I had frozen. I used regular potatoes because I didn't have the red. Since I used a lot of fresh carrots I only added frozen corn and peas a couple hours before it was done. It was delicious! I honestly did add some salt at the end when I tasted it, but I'd rather have to add salt than be stuck with something too salty. I know what I did is not this recipe, but that's why I love reviews! My way was really good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was great for everyone. My husband usually doesn't like stews or soups but he loved this. I did add just a bit more pepper and I added some milk (just a 1/2 cup or so) to make it a bit less thick. I cooked on low for 8 hours and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Another easy meal for those crazy nights with activities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
We made this more like a real pot pie by putting it in the oven for the last 12 minutes with Pillbury Cresent Roll laid over top. (transferred part of it to a large pie plate, added the unrolled Cresent Roll on top) The cresent roll made a flakey crust on top. We cut back on the bullion cubes, using just 4 and will cut back more next time we make this. It was a winner and will be repeated in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
The flavors in this stew were nice, but it was SO ridiculously salty it was difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Pinto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I just love getting home and dinners ready! Make some biscuits and your ready to eat. I use 1/2 chicken breasts and 1/2 chicken thighs, I think it keeps it from drying out as much. This makes so much that we can freeze 1/2 for another day. I also like to cook this and then place in a pie shell for a "pot pie"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Lisa MacKay
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I prepared this recipe over the weekend and we had it for dinner tonight. The preparation was simple and flexible. You can make several modifications to suit your palate and it will surely still turn out well. I agree with others regarding the bullion cubes. Wish I had noticed the other comments prior to making this dish. While our stew is not too salty, the cubes are totally unwarranted. Seasoning such as organic no-salt seasoning, sweet ginger garlic seasoning, and oregano - or others - will do. I actually used these with the cubes, thus saving us from mouthfuls of salt. The seasoning tempered the salt, but the sodium is nonetheless present. I will eliminate the cubes when preparing it next time. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States