Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is really good, but, like others, I tweaked it. I didn't use canned soup, but used my homemade chicken broth and then added about 1/2 cup cream. Also, didn't use bouillon, but had to add salt. I used garlic powder and fresh celery leaves, then added some chives and chopped onions. I also used white sweet potatoes which gave it a touch of sweetness, but really not noticable. It turned out really well. We ate it on top of rice noodles. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This recipe was way way way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
So easy to make. I put everything together the night before and turned the crockpot on in the morning. A perfect easy and delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Roush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and celery seed instead of celery salt. The only change I would suggest otherwise is to cut way back on the black pepper, maybe only use 1 teaspoon. It was too much for my tastes. Other than being too peppery, it was fabulous! We love it and will definitely have it again!-Liza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I removed the celery/garlic salt and chicken bouillon. I added extra fresh celery, green onions, garlic and Chardonnay wine. French girl always cook with wine. ;-) I am on paleolithic healthy eating. Oh! no buttermilk biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Easy to make and it turned out delicious, I did cut back the bouillon to two as that's all I had and no celery salt as I had none. Served it over the biscuits and everyone loved it. It makes a real good size recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butch Petersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
While watching video I didn't like idea of all the salt. But I remembered the potatoes and chicken. In the end the fresh ingredients use up the salt. I do have one question???? Why do most women come here when they have no intention of getting a recipe.They only come here re-write recipes. It's the number one reason I've never sent one in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Karr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was really good except in my opinion too salty. Next time I would cut the salt in half or out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
My family really liked this recipe. The only thing I changed was adding chicken stock, because I did not have the bouillon. I had some frozen veggies in the freezer (I think Italian mix) and used those. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I'm giving it five stars because of the way I made it. =) Like a lot of people on here I read 6 cubes of bouillon and thought it would be way too salty. I used 3 chicken breasts, (lasted 2 days for myself, my husband and my 13 year old daughter) and I didn't cut it up, with the cooking time I used, the chicken literally shreds and falls apart once you go in to give it a whirl or two, 2 large cans of cream of chicken (I used about one and a half of those because I have the smaller crockpot), measured in the large can I measured 1/4 to 1/3 low sodium chicken stock (depends how creamy you want it), 1 tsp black pepper, I put in minced garlic to my liking to give the chicken some extra flavor, 5-6 red potatoes quartered, and one chicken cube, mixed it all up and cooked it on low for 8 hours. On the last hour I threw in a pack of mixed veggies, any type will do. And I topped it with Grands Biscuits. I know it sounds starchy, but it's really good and I am more than sure that that's why it lasted for more than one day for us. I don't have a pic but I'm making it again today, so I will share soon. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddy D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States