Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made this as is (didn't read reviews first--my mistake) and the amount of pepper called for made it inedible. No one could eat it. It was a shame, since I could tell it would have been delicious. I will make again using only 1 teaspoon of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Rust

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariannie Cintron-Williams
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great recipe! Simple and yummy! I did some variations. I used adobe and seasoned each piece of chicken, I added half a large onion diced, 1- 26 oz can of chicken condensed soup, 1- 10 oz can of chicken condensed soup and 1- 10 oz can of cream of mushroom condensed soup. I did not have celery salt or chicken bouillon and I think it would have been too salty with that. I used less potatoes. Followed the rest of the recipe and served over Pillsbury biscuits from the oven. Family wants a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This recipe is far too peppery and filled with sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynonna Merchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was so quick and easy! Used leftovers in a store bought pie crust for a second easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Nixon
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very, very good...used low sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon. I used no salt, only Vegeta, which is salty vegetable dry seasoning. I was light on pepper too, but I like tasting my food as I go, better be safe then sorry or hungry. When I added frozen mix vegetables towards the end of cook time I put a tbl spoon of flour to thicken it up a bit. It turned out perfect, especially when I poured it over crispy biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Nixon
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made this recipe according to the instructions and it turned out GREAT! The only thing I did different was cut the pepper amount to one teaspoon instead of one tablespoon due to small kids eating the meal. It was very hearty and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Tastes pretty good and easy to make. I pretty much followed the recipe, except I didn't notice that it called for (2) 26 oz cans of soup, I thought it was 2 of the regular size. So I wound up using 3 regular sized cans. Also, I was out of garlic salt and celery salt so I used garlic powder and celery seed. Good thing because for someone that likes salt, and salts almost everything, this was almost too salty for me because of all the bouillon! And I did use the full tablespoon of pepper and glad I did. I'm not a big fan of pepper but I thought it added a great flavor and it was the perfect amount. Next time I'd love to serve this over biscuits. I thought because there were potatoes it wouldn't need it, but this would have been fantastic over biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I agree with the other reviews, It was too salty and peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved it! So easy to do. Changed it a little, but my hubby and son came back for more...and more.... Instead of 2 tins of chicken soup, I put 1 of chicken and corn and 1 of mushroom. Also halved the bullion, didn't add any salts at all, added an onion, plus an extra tin of water. This made it a bit sloppy, but I just thickened it with a chicken gravy mix and added some two-minute chicken noodles. Everyone walks in from work demanding to know what I've been cooking (and there are 4 kids and a hubby). Definitely a winner in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I changed quite a few things: I used 2 cans cream of chicken, 2 cans cream of celery, 1/2 cup of water, 2 sweet potatoes- cubed, and a generous sprinkling of Mrs. Dash Original Seasoning (No Salt). I guess I came up with a completely different recipe! Towards the end of the cooking -- couple of hours left, I added pearl onions and mixed frozen veggies. Cooking the chicken, soup and potatoes from the get go helped thicken the sauce, and the soup made it creamy and delicious! Before baking my biscuits, I sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on top of them -- so yummy! I did not try the recipe as it is posted because of the reviews, and looking over the ingredients it definitely sounds like it would be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pazand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States