Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Yum! I follow the recipe exactly and this came out very good. The carrot flavor was a little stronger than I like, maybe because the bag of mixed veggies had carrots in it also. Next time I will peel and chop my baby carrots and use half as much. I didn't have any biscuits to I served this with Saltine crackers. Very hearty and filling...reminds me of chicken and dumplings, without the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
his dish was so bad, nobody in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I made this in the summer & still had that warm comfy home feel when I ate it. This was absolutely delicious. NOTE: However did need more chicken stock as the stew absorbed it. Also, I added rosemary, because I love it in pot pies & it was just the right touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I see a lot of reviews saying this recipe call for too much salt...but what about the pepper??? That's a ridiculous amount of pepper and because my husband helped me throw this together, he used what the recipe said. We both found it completely inedible! I would make this again but with both salt and pepper reductions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Hello people, The Netherlands speaking, I just got a cast iron slow cooker. Me happy! And decided to try this recipe. I have to guess how much ounces are, but I think I got it figured. (still guessing ;-))Some ingrediënts i'll have to improvice on, but it smells delicious. I am gonna cheat on the buttermilk biscuits. Am using off the shelf puff pastrie things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martine Kok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I used this recipe as a base since we're really sensitive to salt and garlic, and it is a great starting point for your family's likes. Basically what you like in a chicken pot pie, use for vegetables in this recipe, which is what I did. I used 4 10.75 oz cans of Healthy Choice Cream of chicken soup (do they even make 26 oz cans any more?), about 1 tablespoon of no salt seasoning blend mix from Trader Joe's (like Mrs Dash's general blend), 2 teaspoons of poultry seasoning, half a soup can of water and several grinds of fresh black pepper. I used about 1/2 lb sliced baby carrots, two huge celery sticks diced, half of a huge onion, about a cup of fresh sliced green beans and cooked on high for 4.5 hrs, stirring half way through. Then a half hour before it finished cooking, I fished out the chicken pieces and cut much smaller, then added a healthy cup of frozen peas. I can't say enough about this base recipe - it is a perfect starting point and a great way to keep your kitchen cool on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
My family and I enjoyed this for dinner last night! I will make it again, and when I do, I will cut back on the pepper and salt. You can always salt & pepper stuff at the table, right? I also added three diced pieces of spring onions. Made some cheddar/cheese biscuits, too. This is really an awesome dish and smelled wonderful while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Even without a slow cooker, this recipe was a hit. To cut back on salt I used celery seed and powdered garlic. Also I added about a cup of chicken stock and 1 less bouillon cube. It was a big success and made enough to last a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I cut the servings to 8 and still had left overs. I didn't use the bullion but did use some low sodium chicken broth. I added some flour to thicken up the broth. It was a huge hit. Fam loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Very good. This is something I'd have to get used to eating just because I grew up eating all of those ingredients in one convenient little bowl, but very good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States