Slow Cooker Chicken Parisienne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I liked the basis for the recipe, but found it lacking in some flavor levels and presentation; it's clearly the trade-off for simplicity (which is so great with this recipe!). This recipe is a great base from which to build some experiments upon! I substituted an additional 1/4 C of flour and 1/2 C of buttermilk for the sour cream (this one, honestly, was not wanting to have to run to the store...), replaced the canned mushrooms (deviation from the traditional, but adds texture and color, and the condensed mushroom brings the same mushroom taste in) with 2/3 C rough chopped broccoli florets, an additional clove of garlic and teaspoon of fresh ground black pepper, a dash of chili powder (little kicker), and added some rough chopped parsley sprinkled over the whole thing right before putting the lid on. As an additional alternative, I also pocketed the chicken and stuffed it with a slice of Swiss cheese and used toothpicks to keep it shut, kind of a la cordon bleu. Turned out FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Great Recipe. I have making this for years only thing different is I don't use the flour. I also make it in the oven instead of the slow cooker I cook it the oven for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was the first recipe I made in my new (to me) slow cooker a month ago. I made it as is, but added about 5 ounces of frozen artichoke hearts, because I love them with chicken and mushrooms. In the slow cooker, they dissolved into the sauce and made it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBKRY2R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I made this last night for dinner because I had all of the ingredients in the house. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
We've been making this recipe for years and absolutely love it! I don't usually rate recipes but when I saw this recipe only had four stars, I decided to add my two cents :) The only change we make is to use fresh sauteed mushrooms rather than canned mushrooms. It's comfort food at it's best....especially in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Simple, and pretty good. Used fresh mushrooms as I don't like canned ones and it came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was good, but I definitely will try adding a bit more wine to keep it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is good but it needs more seasoning than it calls for - such as garlic & onion powder. I'll try it again but I'll add more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I love things that are quick and easy. This recipe is that and some. the only changes I did was I used 1 Tbsp. of minced garlic and cooking sherry instead of white wine I believe it added more depth and I used bone-in chicken thighs. This was very tasty I will be added this to my quick and easy go-tos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States