Slow Cooker Chicken Parisienne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Really delicious and easy. I followed the advice of another reviewer and added 1/2 onion and 2 cloves of garlic. The chicken only took about 4 hours to cook on low, so you may not want to let this cook away all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Glacken Wyandt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was ok. I added cheddar cheese and some broccli to add some flavor but it still came out a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was excellent. I read the reviews before I made it for the first time and did change things a bit. I doubled the sauce recipe and I used cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic and fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I also added a 14 oz can of artichoke hearts the last hour of cooking. I used more seasonings then just the salt, pepper and paprika. I used garlic powder, onion powder and fresh chopped basil. You can really use any kind of seasonings that you like. I served it over egg noodles. My family enjoyed it too and we all agreed that I should definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
OMG this is so good! My husband doesn't like mushrooms....so I ground them up and he didn't even know...super yummy...thank you! Served on herb & butter pasta...really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Assembled and cooked recipe as written but used fresh chicken tenders and a carton of fresh mushrooms. Chicken was tender and sauce was delicious; served over egg noodles. Easy, economical and now a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARAJANIS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was awesome! I brought my slow cooker out of hibernation and I am now a believer! I used chicken thighs on the bone and boneless chicken tenders and the chicken on the bone was definitely the winner. The chicken literally fell off the bone with a spoon, it was so tender and succulent. Love the gravy, too! It tastes like a stroganoff and with only half a cup of white wine, I didn't notice a strong wine taste at all. I am thinking that I just might have to substitute the egg noodles for mashed potatoes and the chicken for a small turkey and make this for Thanksgiving! Also, I used low-fat sour cream and fat-free cream of 'shroom soup and it was still extremely flavorful with a few shakes of onion and garlic powder. Outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I seldom use canned soup in anything, but I love this dish! I use the roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup, fresh mushrooms sauteed in butter, 1/2 a cup or so of chopped onion and I quickly brown the chicken breasts (cooks faster if you do this). Clean up is easier if you whisk all the sauce ingredients together in the crock pot and simply add the chicken. Garnish after plating with chopped fresh herbs (I use chives, thyme, or tarragon) and a sprinkle of paprika to improve the bland appearance. Save the left over sauce! I mix it with browned hamburger, some frozen peas and carrots and chopped fresh dill. Serve over mashed potatoes for a super quick and delicious Shepard's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
We liked this one. I added fresh mushrooms and reduced the sour cream b/c i didn't want it to taste like strogonoff. added a little bit of Worcestershire sauce. This is a good basic recipe to work with if you like to improvise. my only critique is that it lacks color and visual appeal. but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baltimore Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I liked the basis for the recipe, but found it lacking in some flavor levels and presentation; it's clearly the trade-off for simplicity (which is so great with this recipe!). This recipe is a great base from which to build some experiments upon! I substituted an additional 1/4 C of flour and 1/2 C of buttermilk for the sour cream (this one, honestly, was not wanting to have to run to the store...), replaced the canned mushrooms (deviation from the traditional, but adds texture and color, and the condensed mushroom brings the same mushroom taste in) with 2/3 C rough chopped broccoli florets, an additional clove of garlic and teaspoon of fresh ground black pepper, a dash of chili powder (little kicker), and added some rough chopped parsley sprinkled over the whole thing right before putting the lid on. As an additional alternative, I also pocketed the chicken and stuffed it with a slice of Swiss cheese and used toothpicks to keep it shut, kind of a la cordon bleu. Turned out FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Great Recipe. I have making this for years only thing different is I don't use the flour. I also make it in the oven instead of the slow cooker I cook it the oven for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States