Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Very Nice dish, added less coco, was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
After 5 hrs cooking on low, I was able to shred my chicken with a plastic spoon....so I don't think that there's a need for 11-12 hrs. It was delicious! Left out currants, added sugar and nutmeg after reading all the reviews.....it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENI23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
We made this for a Mexican Party and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
If you are looking for your Super Bowl party meal, this is it! I made this today but used 3.5 of bone in pork butt. I subbed enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce and added 4 chopped canned chipotles in lieu of hot sauce. I have been told this is the best pork I have ever made. After 11 hours in the slow cooker, I removed the bone and chunked the pork by breaking up the pieces. I prefer this to shredding because it allows the sauce flavor to seep into the meat. I served with soft tacos, pico de gallo, and diced avocado sprinkled with lime juice and some salt. It was excellent! If you are expecting a thick mole sauce, this isn't it but you could remove the meat and thicken it, I am sure. Excellent recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
this was delicious with a few additions/changes. i upped the comino and cinnamon to 1 tsp. of each, and added 1/4 tsp. each of ground nutmeg and dried cilantro. try adding 1-2 tbsp. white sugar for a little sweetness to the sauce. i would definately recommend pureeing the sauce in a blender before adding to the crock pot with the chicken to make it smoother and thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I was impressed with how easy this was to make! Next time, I will double the tomato sauce and will be a little more heavy handed with the spices. I served this with vegetarian baked beans. . .the flavors worked well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Dektor Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I found the mole sauce to be to sweet . I would not make it again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Pretty good, definitley need to blend sauce before adding shredded chicken. Not as good as the clasic, time consuming recipe, but it will do in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
You definitely need a spice grinder to do this recipe with the whole spices. The whole flavor of this dish was not what I expected at all. It tasted nothing like the Mole at a Mexican restaurant. I was pretty disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is one of our favorites. We make it for parties and our friends go crazy over it. I have never seen currants at the store, so I use 1/3 cup currant jelly instead, and I use cherry crasins (cranberries) or a rasin cranberry blend instead of just rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyacorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States