Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marsha
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is a perfect mole sauce that is so easy! I added one small can of stewed tomatoes because I wanted more sauce, and since I didn't have corriander I used cilantro. Next time I will omit the sugar because the rasins and peanut butter add enough sweetness. Half of an adobe chipotle will add the heat to please tender palettes. I never thought I would make a homemade mole sauce but this was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I was so surprised at the tastiness and simplicity of this mole. It really is comparable to other chicken mole dishes that I have enjoyed at authentic mexican restaurants. It was so easy too! We don't have canned chipotle's here, so I added in a fresh jalapeno and some chipotle seasoning and it worked out perfectly. Served with brown rice, plain yogurt (sub for sour cream) and fresh cilantro. Highly recommend this one! We will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Super delicious and simple! I wouldn't quite say it tastes restaurant-style (at least not like the restaurants I've had it at), but it's definitely a tasty meal. I used fire-roasted canned tomatoes and it helped bring out the smoky flavor I'm used to in mole, although I didn't use coriander because I wasn't able to find it at my grocery store, for some reason. Still, it turned out fantastic, and I regretted making only half the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I absolutely love mole but am also VERY picky about the quality. This was the closest thing to authentic mole that I have been able to find! Delicious! I added 2 circles of mexican chocolate though in place of the other chocolate it calls for and I added some extra peanut butter. This was so easy and tastes FANTASTIC! I had leftover mole for a couple of days and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've noticed a few comments that it is too 'hot".... please read the recipe... it calls for ONE - finely chopped canned chipotle...... NOT one entire can of them! LOL.... thanks for the giggle! If you follow the recipe you will end up with a very nice mole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
salt after braising; double the anchos. Awesome and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made this for Cinco de Mayo work potluck. I doubled the recipe. I didn't have any raisins or sesame seeds, but the dish was amazing. I thought it tasted just like restaurant quality. Will definitely make this again with probably not as many chipotle chiles. It was a bit spicy for my boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had just purchased a turkey breast when I came across this recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed the complexity of flavors. I did substitute honey for the sugar, used Mexican chocolate instead of the cocoa and added 2 chipotles for extra spiciness. Thanks for a delicious and easy mole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
swapped the meat for quorn and lowered the heat to match those eating it. also left out the sugar as another review suggested. It went down really well, this will be made again, hopefully with a higher chili level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I tried this recipe without changing a thing, it was excellent! Get yourself some grated cheese and tortillas and go to town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States