Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Super delicious and simple! I wouldn't quite say it tastes restaurant-style (at least not like the restaurants I've had it at), but it's definitely a tasty meal. I used fire-roasted canned tomatoes and it helped bring out the smoky flavor I'm used to in mole, although I didn't use coriander because I wasn't able to find it at my grocery store, for some reason. Still, it turned out fantastic, and I regretted making only half the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I don't get the raisins, unless they are just for authenticity. They are a distraction in the dish and make it too sweet. Checking around the web I do find one other chicken mole recipe that uses (just 1/4 cup) raisins. I will leave them out next time. Doubled the chipotele pepper and the heat is just right for most around here. Could go hotter. Next time I will omit the raisins, and pehaps add a tblsp brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good, though not that similar to other moles I've had. The raisins and spices also made it feel a little South Asian-influenced in a good way. I cut down the peanut butter to 1 TBS, fearing it might dominate. I used a bit more of the adobo sauce for depth of flavor but just one chile and it wasn't too hot. I used a square of baker's chocolate and partway through tasted and added a little cocoa (stronger bite). I sprinkled with sesame seeds and chopped cilantro to serve. Thanks to the original poster--this will go into our regular options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Tasty but was too rich after one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Yum! I love mole, and this met my craving. It was a little more tomato-ey than other moles that I've had, but still really yummy. I added 2 squared of Mexican chocolate, as a reviewer recommended, and used fresh cilantro instead of coriander because that's all I had. You can't beat a recipe that you just throw together in a slow cooker and forget about until dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
swapped the meat for quorn and lowered the heat to match those eating it. also left out the sugar as another review suggested. It went down really well, this will be made again, hopefully with a higher chili level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had just purchased a turkey breast when I came across this recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed the complexity of flavors. I did substitute honey for the sugar, used Mexican chocolate instead of the cocoa and added 2 chipotles for extra spiciness. Thanks for a delicious and easy mole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
A pretty decent mole recipe. It could use more cocoa or some dark chocolate, but the taste overall is pretty close to the real thing. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was really different. My husband and friend really liked it. It's still up in the air for me. I served it as a filling for taco shells and soft tortillas heated. We treated it as a filling for those and added sour cream, avacado, ch. onions and grated cheese. I didn't add the chipotle because I was too lazy to go to the store just for that. But I did add chipotle seasoning and a little chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I was so surprised at the tastiness and simplicity of this mole. It really is comparable to other chicken mole dishes that I have enjoyed at authentic mexican restaurants. It was so easy too! We don't have canned chipotle's here, so I added in a fresh jalapeno and some chipotle seasoning and it worked out perfectly. Served with brown rice, plain yogurt (sub for sour cream) and fresh cilantro. Highly recommend this one! We will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States