Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
we thought this was great--very tasty, healthy and easy. i love mole, and although this isn't exactly what you get in a good restaurant, we still loved it. i did saute the onions prior to throwing in the crock pot, and added a tablespoon of the adobo sauce for a bit more spice and flavor, and slightly more cinnamon, cumin, coriander, and nutmeg. also added a bit of salt and fresh ground pepper. will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe very much. In the middle of a busy day, I threw it together and we were so impressed we could hardly wait for dinner. We paired it with Mexican rice and I cooked up some Chayote squash as a side veggie. Will definitely cook again --even for guests. I used thigh meat, 3 packets of Splenda for the sugar, and added !/2 teas. instant coffee (cause I've seen other recipes with coffee). I cut the meat up into bite-sized pieces. This recipe makes plenty of sauce, so the sauce-to-chicken ratio is generous. Next time I will process the raisins before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
a good base recipe to build on. Will make again and adjust the seasonsings and ingredients to my families tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was really tasty! I love mole sauce when we go out for Mexican food. This recipe was just as good as what I order. I shredded the chicken and served it with sour cream and tortilla chips. Delicious! NOTE: Dont skip the raisins, they plumped up and gave a nice sweet balance to the spice of the sauce. NOTE 2: Dont use the entire car of chipotle chilis. The recipe calls for one and that was enough to give a nice kick but it was not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
1 out of 3 tasters was willing to eat more sauce. I am glad I did not put the chicken back into it as it was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very good! You could spend all day in the kitchen roasting and grinding peppers and spices, simmering, stewing and blending or you could take a few minutes to put these ingredients in the crock pot and get results almost as good. I made only one change - I had some Mexican chocolate and tossed that in rather than the unsweetened cocoa and sugar. I doubt it really changed the taste. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I omitted the raisins because we don't like them. I will make it again,adding some salt. I also omitted the sugar based on other reviewers' advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Left out the cumin but otherwise kept to the recipe - was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
The flavor is sensational. My crockpot runs hot, so I removed the chicken early, cut it up, and returned it to the mole just to warm before serving. Also, I processed the sauce to make it smoother. This was my first attempt at making mole since I live in Mexico and have many prepared varieties available. I'll make it again during the winter season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States