Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Yummy but too spicy for me. I think the three teaspoons of chilli powder is just as likely a culprit. Obviously it depends what kind of chilli powder you use. I added two (heaped) teaspoons and wish I'd only added one. I'd recommend other people just start off with one teaspoon and then add extra chilli at the end to taste. I also added a few squares of chocolate and was heavy-handed with the cocoa powder to give it a stronger chocolatey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Great mole recipe but I feel like it needed a bit more bite and a bit more sweetness. Next time I will try another user's suggestion to use real chocolate instead of cocoa powder (I'm picturing chili-infused dark chocolate, yum) and add a couple more chipotle peppers. But we like our food spicy, so if you don't, one pepper is probably fine for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Didn't change a thing and it was really good. I love chicken mole so it was nice to be able to make it from scratch. Next time I think the only change I would make is to take the advice of some others her and process the sauce with a hand blender to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
While not as good as mole I have had in restaurants, this is very good. I wish it was a little bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great base for mole. I doubled the spice and added green chiles. Very easy and delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I Love Mole! Unfortunately, this had a "weird" taste. We did eat it wrapped in tortillas, but through the leftovers (a ton) out. I followed the recipe exactly, including shredding the chicken an hour before finish. It was the flavor that lingered for hours. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The raisins were really overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_fiizeru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
no nutmeg... has potential but I think the flavor would be better stove top. The onions stayed crunchy and it didn't get the dark rich mole color. I actually added 2 more teaspoons of sugar to try and get the chocolate to come through. Sauce to meat ratio is way off. Could easily double the meat. I ended up throwing in some left-over rotisserie chicken in the end because there was just too much sauce that was going to go to waste. I think it could also go with two chipotle peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was my first time making chicken mole,and I must say THANK YOU so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I did add a bit more PB, Chipotle peppers and shredded the chicken (my family loves spicy foods)but other than those few tweaks, I followed the recipe to the T. Super Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ameliaarce
Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Tried it last night without altering the recipe (didn't have any raisins though) I think I would make it again but with the following changes: -no breast meat. Too dry, needs to b thigh or drumstick - less peanut butter or maybe peanut sauce instead, I thought it added a tacky mouth feel that added to the dryness -add some salt -add an acidic agent, lime juice or vinegar. Overall the flavors were nice and the heat level was good (with just one adobe pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States