Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this really expecting something very flavorful and was a little let down. First things first, I used a food processor to cut my veggies so everything was cut evenly and cooked just right. I used a pound of thigh meat and a pound of breast which was a good mix as well. I also only have a 4qt. crockpot and had to take out some of the veggies because they wouldn't all fit. I thought the flavor was somewhat bland. Having said this, I will admit that I cook with cumin and turmeric a lot and also cook a lot of eastern-flavored dishes. If you are not used to these types of spices you would probably consider this very flavorful and a delight to your taste buds. I guess I was just looking for something more - so I doubled the spices! I also thought it needed something to bring all of the flavors together so I added some heavy whipping cream (about 1/4 - 1/2 c). I added all of this after the 4 hours and simply left it on warm for another two. It is a good dish and also very healthy (sans cream) and I think you could defiantly add more veggies to make it extra healthy. Just keep in mind how sensitive you are to the spices called for and use your best judgement for your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The spice mixture in this dish is wonderful! Really liked the flavor. Low fat as well and pretty adaptable. When I went to get my sweet potatoes I discovered they had gone bad and substituted plain white potatoes instead. I hope to make this again, perhaps substituting the chicken with little meat balls made with the same spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Pretty darn good! I would give this 5 stars if it didn't need so many adjustments from written form. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts (far less dry), added some paprika and extra garlic and cumin for flavor (doubling the cinnamon seemed like overkill, it comes across just fine in the given amount), and added a splash of vegetable broth. I also used Rotel for the canned tomatoes (with the juice), and I feel this added some kick to it that may be lacking in the recipes original form. Also, I cooked this on 8ish hours on Low, instead of 3-4 on High. As a stew the mushy-ness didn't bother me, but maybe cooking on high would reduce this? I don't have enough slow cooker experience yet to tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is very delicious and hearty. The spices are perfect - not overpowering. I used white potatoes instead of sweet potatoes because my kids are not fans, but next time I will try both kinds of potatoes. I made couscous to serve with the stew. How can something this delicious and satisfying be so easy?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I thought Cinnamon and Chicken was a unique combination...but one I really enjoyed. My husband and I loved the recipe, my kids felt it had too many spices. I would definitely make it again. I think it would be great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This one is a keeper! It wins the elite position of joining my regular rotation. It's delicious. I did follow the advice of other reviewers by doubling all the spices (except salt- I used 1 1/2 tsp). That change is the only reason I did not give the recipe 5 stars. I liked the thick consistency of the stew, but if you want it a little soupier then you'll want to add a little chicken broth. I also dumped the skinless boneless chicken breasts in whole and frozen, since I was in a hurry and hadn't planned ahead. Of course the cooking time was longer, but it still worked surprisingly well! I cut the chicken with kitchen shears right in the stew just before serving. I recommend following the recipe by thawing and cutting the chicken first (because the vegetables won't get so mushy), but if you slack off like I did, know that you'll still have a yummy stew for dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is an excellent dish to feed a crowd. I followed the other reviewers, Double Spices. I lightly seasoned my chicken prior to adding to the cooker. This is my second time making the dish & I added green peppers. I think this addition adds more flavor as well as color to this dish. I serve it over flavored couscous (Parmesan). My family loves this dish but I personally feel its for a more mature palate. Young kids probably won't enjoy this dish very much. 4 hours on high was long enough & I stirred 1/2 way into cooking. You don't want to over cook veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My husband and I loved this! Sometimes I find myself in a cooking rut where a lot of the food we eat has similar ingredients and spices, especially if it comes from the crock pot. This recipe breaks that cycle. I pretty much made it true to the recipe except that I really don't measure things out so I probably put more spices in than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Very different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I'm a big fan of Moroccan foods and this one is easy and delicious. I use Tyson grilled (frozen) chicken strips for convenience and saves $ too. I serve with coconut basmati rice and it is so good that I can eat it until I am immobile. Don't change a thing, everything is perfect just as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Mohojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States