Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was appreciated by my son, but DH and myself did not care for it. Something missing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I followed advise from other reviewers such doubling the spices, adding chicken broth, and cooking on low 8 hours. This recipe did not blow me away. The consistency was fine, but the taste was lackluster even after doubling up on the spices. Probably won't make this again. Too much chopping for a 3 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good! I made a few small changes: I used yams instead of sweet potatoes, added a small dried red pepper to the crockpot, and garnished with chopped cilantro. It cooked for about 5 hours and seemed dry during most of that process, but eventually produced plenty of liquid and tender veggies (reports indicating otherwise probably didn't have the heat high enough or didn't give it enough time for their chop-size). It makes a large quantity, and servings are generous for the calorie count. I might increase the spices slightly, but the recipe is tasty as-is and creates a great base. I will definitely prepare this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Incredibly easy to put together and was delicious! I served it over basmati rice. I took some to my elderly mother, who always claims to not like anything savory with cinnamon as an ingredient. Didn't tell her, and she said I need to make this one again! (I did confess it had a touch of cin. and she laughed.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I've made this twice now, but last time I forgot to make any kind of notes or anything... I just remember that I ended up with a REALLY full slow cooker (big oval one too) because I used too many chicken thighs :P So this time I was more accurate to the proportions given in the recipe. I must say this is awesome to the point I wish I had a dinner party to bring it to, because people would be impressed! I think it's important to keep in mind the size of your slow cooker when determining how large your 'two carrots' etc should be, and chop the vegetables smaller if you'd like it to cook faster. The chicken doesn't take nearly as long. I only had about two, three hours to wait, so I made the carrots thinner and the potato pieces smaller (probably a little too small as I personally love the tender bites of potato, though they went happily into delicious sauce, so it's okay). I did double the spices because I felt it was just not enough given the amount of food. Total perfection. I made it with Quinoa Side Dish from this site, so the dinner was a little onion-y overall, but that is so all right in this house. Threw in about six boneless, skinless thigh filets from the store, shredded about 2.5 hours in, then let it hang out in cooker while making the quinoa. Food heaven. Will make again for sure. It's also INCREDIBLY cheap if you use chicken thighs. I'd be wary of letting it cook 4 hours though, at least on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was a solid 4.5. I have to mark down a bit because there weren't enough spices; next time I will double them. The chicken was tender and juicy. The tomatoes fit with the sweet potatoes. If your slow cooker is big enough, add more veggies. I did leave out the beans because my husband doesn't like them. Thanks Kcooper78
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was delish and I had almost everything required on hand, so it was so easy to make. The only thing I didn't have was carrots; I used zucchini instead. I also just used two chicken breasts. My roommate loved it. I was looking forward to the leftovers, but they were gone early the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I originally gave this 3 stars but I made it again and I think it really deserves 4 stars. I added some hot sauce to the recipe and it really seemed to step it up a notch. It is a great healthy recipe especially if you want to start adding more vegetables in your diet. Very simple as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
similar to israeli moroccan couscous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I had to add a little chicken broth, but the flavor was still nice. I might double on the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States