Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this tonight according to the recipe. Many reviewers said that it was great as is, some said it was too sweet, and some said it was too bland. Initially I think it tasted rather bland but the more I ate the more I could taste the spices so I am glad I did not add more that the recipe called for. My boyfriend said that it was too sweet and did not care for it but I did not think it was to sweet at all so I think this has a lot to do with personal preference. I am not quite sure what it is about this dish but it does feel like its missing something like other reviewers have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Easy and delicious ... with a few alterations: As many of the previous reviews have noted, the recipe needs additional seasoning. I quadrupled the spices (not the salt) and added dried fruit (raisins and chopped apricot) - which is traditionally part of a marrakesh. Near the very end (1/2 hr before serving), added diced zucchini (delish + plus the green adds eye appeal). To serve, topped with lots of chopped fresh coriander and chopped roasted almonds, accompanied by couscous with currants. Served this for a dinner party - was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I make this regularly - really easy, very tasty, great for leftovers. I usually skip the parsley, use a little more spice than it calls for (plus cayenne b/c we like things spicy), and add fresh cilantro towards the end. It's in the cooker right now, and this time I added a little lemon to give it some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
BOMB. Make it as written and you'll be pleased. I'll have to ad a photo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiev
Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great flavor and super easy! I used chicken thighs and doubled the spices, and, since I didn't have chicken broth, I added a few dashes of salt that really helped bring out the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was wonderful. Like many other reviewers I used boneless/skinless thighs instead of breasts and doubled the spices. I also substituted the tumeric with 1/2 teaspoon each (since I doubled spices) curry and garam masala. Finally, I added 1/2 cup of golden raisins. Served with couscous. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Needs to cook longer than 5 hours. Veggies were too crunchy...but chicken was done. Something is missing in the spices...maybe something that give the dish a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
As a vegetarian, I omitted chicken from this recipe. I also added red lentils. After letting it cook, I used a potato masher to mash about about a third of the contents in the pot. Also I felt it very much needed a squirt of lemon juice to bring out the flavor. I really like the flavor of sweet potatoes in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 412envy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was the first low fat recipe I tried for my husband and he loved it.... he couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was very good. I only should have cooked it on high for 4 hours. Family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States