Slow Cooker Chicken Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I've made this for years (without the egg - I'm gonna add it and see if it makes mine better) and my entire family loves it! A couple of suggestions: first, make the cornbread the day before and break apart after it cools and put in a large ziploc bag along with all dry ingredients. Then, in the morning before you go to work, put the chicken in the slow cooker with enough water to cover. When you get home from work, break the chicken apart and omit the addition of the chicken broth - you have made your own. I find that the sodium in the soup mixes is already above anyone's RDA. Add dry ingredients and let it cook on low for a couple of hours and you have dinner. This is a lifesaver for the working lady!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
As the rest- used less liquid. I thought the cornbread was a little overpowering- so I would a little less cornbread and more bread instead. But this was good and I recommend to others to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I will add celery to this next time. Cut the liquid down one can and I like poultry seasoning so I would add a tsp. of that to it, it will probably be a lot better, for me. But, very good dish just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very awesome recipe. The directions were very easy to understand and follow. I was a bit skeptical about this recipe when I was making it. But it turned out GREAT!!! Everyone loved it. I did modify it a bit...I only used one can of condensed soup, but it was still really moist. Definitely a 5 star dish at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe, and you can cook it either in the slow cooker or the oven. I bake the eggs in my cornbread, then add 2 coarsely chopped boiled eggs to the dressing. Freezes well. Be sure to spray the crock with Pam, though - it you're not around to stir occasionally, it tends to stick. Definitely 5 stars, especially if you're a Southerner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I made this last night for dinner and it was a real hit! I even thought It could be made after thanksgiving using leftover turkey. Its great with a little cranberry served on the side. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My husband rated this 5 stars and he is a picky eater. I was skeptical about the dressing because I normally bake my chicken and dressing, but due to needing to do some holiday shopping I tried it. I followed the advice to reduce the chicken broth and only used 24 oz. and that was plenty. I cooked 2 1/2 hours on LOW and 30 mins on HIGH before serving. This recipe turned out very moist, but not too wet. I also added poultry seasoning and no salt (the soup adds enough for us). I highly recommend this recipe as a crock pot recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELAMCKEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe with modification. Basically, this recipe has too much liquid. I did not use one of the cans of broth and it came out very moist. I added 1 tsp. poultry seasoning and deleted the salt. Next time I will add mushroom, celery and fresh parsley for a little color. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I make this recipe all the time.It is my childrens favorite meal!It is absolutly wonderful.It is a must try!!!Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was so good. I had to cook longer than the recipe recommended so I just added a little more broth in the beginning. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States