Slow Cooker Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This recipe needs a lot of work to be palatable. Just as the other contributors have noted, the original recipe calls for too much liquid. Additionally, it desperately needs flavor!! Add salt, onion, garlic, coriander, pepper, etc. to taste. Wound NOT recommend it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I followed some advice from other reviewers. Didn't add any water, a can chopped tomatos instead. I also browned some garlic and an onion with some curry, turmeric, cumin and chilli. I didn't have potatoes and I added chick peas instead. I also noticed that a chicken was done way before the scheduled time (I cooked on High for 4 hrs). Next time, I will try 3 hrs with adding veggies after 2 hours of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
My family liked this one! I followed the directions but used one cup mixed rice instead of the potatoes. It was good, I did have to add one cup water with the veggies because alll the moisture was pick up by the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
very bland... which is disappointing.. I was looking forward to curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
There are a lot of ingredients missing! Good start. Use a frozen veggie medley with broccoli, carrots etc, Not a stir fry veggie mix. Add coconut milk and canned diced tomatoes,paprika and chopped celantro. Thicken with a slurry of flour and coconut milk. Depending on amount of heat you like, add some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I'm always trying new recipes for curry this was too bland and watery. I make slow cooker chicken curry regularly. My version - use 6-8 bone in thighs - 1 pkg. onion soup mix - 1 can cr. of mush. soup; 1 can of whole potatoes - 2+ tablespoons curry powder. Serve over hot rice and garnish with any or all of chopped tomatoes; chopped carrots; chopped nuts; chopped celery and of course plenty of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Added dumplings and it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel Cou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This recipe was very bland and the juice did not thicken enough. I think if I tried it again I would add more curry and use a can of Cream of Chicken soup in place of one of the cups of water. The chicken was very tender, however so will definitely play around with it to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I left out the water and used prepackaged Vermont Maple and Apple Curry. Turned out very flavorful. Probably a new recipe on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Pretty good; I added 3 Tbs corn starch but that could be because it was old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States