Slow Cooker Chicken Curry with Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My hubby doesn't like apples in non-desert food so I skipped that but I think raisins would be better than apples. Found the curry flavor very bland so tripled it and added a two dashes each of cinnamon, cumin and chili powder. Also substituted low fat coconut milk for the regular low fat milk, tasted more like curry and added a few carrots to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipe has a lot of potential when the changes that others mentioned are made, and my rating is for the tweaked version. I doubled the curry powder, and added 2 cloves of garlic, mushrooms, carrots, cranberries, salt, pepper, and the spices recommended by others, apart from the extra chilli. I added a splash of soy sauce at the end, too. It turned out beautifully. I think it would probably go better again (although would require a little more work) by frying up the spices, onions, garlic and chicken before popping them in the slow cooker. I noted someone was concerned about too much liquid in the final result. The apples do release a lot as they cook, so I decided to eliminate the milk, which can separate in slow cooking, by adding a 50g sachet of powdered coconut milk to the stock, which I made up with a full teaspoon of powder in a cup of boiling water. This was great. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1blondemoment
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. Really lacks flavor. Next time would motify with more seasonings like salt, pepper, garlic cloves, and herbs. Mushrooms would also be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Really good. I enjoyed this meal with the additions of carrots instead of celery, cranraisins for color and tartness (put in just a few minutes before serving) and the additional spices of cumin, cinnamon and chili powder that another reviewer recommended. Also, for some texture, I didn't add the apples at the beginning but rather about half way through. I also used yogurt instead of milk. I served it with baked potatoes. The one thing that I don't like is that there seems to be more liquid left over than one may expect - but it still tastes really good and has some really unique and different flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Really liked this recipe, however I added some extra quinoa and a touch of lemon juice. Served it with plain yogurt. Next time I may add some raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I tripled the curry and added garam marsala which I believ to be the wonder spice of eastern food. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Four stars after the modifications. I listened to other reviewers and doubled the spices/added cinnamon, curry, chili powder and garlic. I omitted the apples and replaced them with potatoes. I also doubled the grains. Very tasty end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ember

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
SUGGESTIONS: Double all spices and add cinnamon, cumin, garlic and salt. Omit the apples and double the amount of quinoa. Add carrots. NEXT TIME: I will try adding coconut milk and craisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Based on the other reviews I was already planning on greatly increasing the amount of curry. But, when I started throwing things in the crock pot, I realized that I was almost out of curry! So I used huge amounts of all of the spices listed on the curry container, and was glad I did. I will agree that the apples seemed out of place and would use potatoes instead if I fixed this again, and would also add raisins for extra flavor. I also added well over the amounts of carrots and celery, and was glad for the color. Since the other reviews said that it was watery, I used double the amount of grain, which worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was okay. With my changes, I would have given it 4 stars, but as written, it's only 3. I added cumin, cinnamon, chili powder, garlic cloves and carrots. The leftovers the next day were better then the first day. The quinoa must have soaked in all the favors by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States