Slow Cooker Chicken Curry with Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Really liked this recipe, however I added some extra quinoa and a touch of lemon juice. Served it with plain yogurt. Next time I may add some raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1blondemoment
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Followed recipe exactly. Really lacks flavor. Next time would motify with more seasonings like salt, pepper, garlic cloves, and herbs. Mushrooms would also be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I found this very watery, even though I used greek yogurt instead of the milk. Also thought the flavor was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My hubby doesn't like apples in non-desert food so I skipped that but I think raisins would be better than apples. Found the curry flavor very bland so tripled it and added a two dashes each of cinnamon, cumin and chili powder. Also substituted low fat coconut milk for the regular low fat milk, tasted more like curry and added a few carrots to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Really good. I enjoyed this meal with the additions of carrots instead of celery, cranraisins for color and tartness (put in just a few minutes before serving) and the additional spices of cumin, cinnamon and chili powder that another reviewer recommended. Also, for some texture, I didn't add the apples at the beginning but rather about half way through. I also used yogurt instead of milk. I served it with baked potatoes. The one thing that I don't like is that there seems to be more liquid left over than one may expect - but it still tastes really good and has some really unique and different flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was okay. With my changes, I would have given it 4 stars, but as written, it's only 3. I added cumin, cinnamon, chili powder, garlic cloves and carrots. The leftovers the next day were better then the first day. The quinoa must have soaked in all the favors by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
VERY bland. Like others, I had to add tons of spices to get any flavor at all. The apples were unrecognizable and flavorless because they had cooked so much. I have to give it a 2 as written because of all the additions I had to make to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I tripled the curry and added garam marsala which I believ to be the wonder spice of eastern food. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Something about the spice mix was not what I was expecting compared to Indian or Caribbean curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Bland and boring as written. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States