Slow Cooker Chicken Curry with Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
SUGGESTIONS: Double all spices and add cinnamon, cumin, garlic and salt. Omit the apples and double the amount of quinoa. Add carrots. NEXT TIME: I will try adding coconut milk and craisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
really enjoyed this dish. I liked the apples. I did add carrots and used coconut milk and will add raisins next time. I have very strong curry I got in South Africa and the alloted amount was plenty strong, and i like strong curry. I will do this again and will try it without chicken and add vegetables to make a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I was expecting more flavor. I found it very bland. I think I will try it again and maybe double up on the curry and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
this was okay, not what I was hoping for. It could have been me though not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzkenworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Four stars after the modifications. I listened to other reviewers and doubled the spices/added cinnamon, curry, chili powder and garlic. I omitted the apples and replaced them with potatoes. I also doubled the grains. Very tasty end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ember

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Based on the other reviews I was already planning on greatly increasing the amount of curry. But, when I started throwing things in the crock pot, I realized that I was almost out of curry! So I used huge amounts of all of the spices listed on the curry container, and was glad I did. I will agree that the apples seemed out of place and would use potatoes instead if I fixed this again, and would also add raisins for extra flavor. I also added well over the amounts of carrots and celery, and was glad for the color. Since the other reviews said that it was watery, I used double the amount of grain, which worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipe has a lot of potential when the changes that others mentioned are made, and my rating is for the tweaked version. I doubled the curry powder, and added 2 cloves of garlic, mushrooms, carrots, cranberries, salt, pepper, and the spices recommended by others, apart from the extra chilli. I added a splash of soy sauce at the end, too. It turned out beautifully. I think it would probably go better again (although would require a little more work) by frying up the spices, onions, garlic and chicken before popping them in the slow cooker. I noted someone was concerned about too much liquid in the final result. The apples do release a lot as they cook, so I decided to eliminate the milk, which can separate in slow cooking, by adding a 50g sachet of powdered coconut milk to the stock, which I made up with a full teaspoon of powder in a cup of boiling water. This was great. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Extra curry, craisins, and then a little soy sauce at the table-made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Bland and boring as written. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Something about the spice mix was not what I was expecting compared to Indian or Caribbean curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States