Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Haven't tried the recipe but just wanted to point out, Creole cuisine is not the same as Cajun cuisine. Creole denotes someone who is of mixed heritage, i.e. African/French/Spanish/Haitian et cetera who was born in the New Orleans area (at least that's one of the meanings). Cajuns on the other hand are a group of people who originated from Canada (French speaking) and settled in the bayou country in South Louisiana in the Lafayette and surrounding areas this area is referred to as Acadiana. Their cooking is distinctly different and the Creole borrows heavily from the African cuisine, gumbo, jambalaya, et cetera. Thanks and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was simple to make, especially when you chopped the vegetables the night before. However, because the seasoning amount is not specified I added too little in the morning. It had a very plain taste. I would say double the tomatoes and do about 4 tbsp of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Blah. Made this for dinner tonight. Other than being INSANELY easy to prepare and inexpensive to boot, I can't think of anything positive to say about this. On the flipside, my fiance commented that this was the best meal I've prepared in a while (huh???). Despite seasoning my chicken liberally with Emeril's essence (and only using 3 breasts total), subbing a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles for stewed tomatoes and adding a 14.5 oz. can of chicken broth, I followed Mary's directions to the letter. I served up bowlfuls mixed with Minute rice (which I added to my slow cooker during the last 30 minutes of cooking - try it, it really works!). My verdict? I won't be adding this to my regular menu rotation, but thank you, Mary for sharing your recipe with me! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Very good. I did follow others suggestions and added 1 cup chicken broth, don't know if I needed to unless you want/like more of a Jambalaya consistency over rice. Served with 2 cups dry rice, and it was AWESOME. Added 2 jalepenos and 2 serrano peppers since we like things really hot and it was amazing. Also, made recipe with 2.5 pounds boneless/skinless chicken thighs instead of breasts and was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTFINAL137

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
The flavor of this chicken dish is fantastic! I used 3T of creole seasoning blend (from this site) and it was very flavorful. I increased the celery & garlic and would do so again. I wanted to shred the chicken breasts at the end of cooking & scoop over a steaming bowl of rice, so it needed a little more liquid. Per other reviewers, I added 1 cup chicken broth & 1/2 of a (6oz) can of tomato paste. I used a 10oz bag of fresh sliced mushrooms I had on hand instead of the canned and that worked out great! I put in the jalapeno whole (w/ a slit in the side) & added a few dashes of Tobasco to the pot and that gave the right amount of heat for us. Thanks for this simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Just was not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was the best recipe ever. I added mild Italian turkey sausage, shrimp and diced zucchini squash to the recipe. Made it more heartier and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
this chicken was super easy & so delicious. i served it over rice. i didn't have any creole seasoning so i found a recipe on this site. it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Family pleaser did not add chili cajun seasoning made it spicey enough for the little ones. Did add 1 can of tomato paste and 1/2tsp.garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is amazing!! I make this at least once a month for my boyfriend and I! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States