Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The recipe came together nice and easy, and it made my house smell great, but the end result was so bland! Creole food is supposed to have big flavors, and this just didn't. We had to add more salt and a generous amount of hot sauce at the table, just to make it taste like SOMETHING. I've got enough leftovers that I'm going to try to salvage in a soup, but I'm probably not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is the first time I have been disappointed by a recipe with such high reviews on this site. I followed this recipe exactly as written and I think that was the problem. Most other reviewers changed most of the recipe while still rating it 5 stars which is misleading. How can you rate it five stars if you changed so much of the recipe?? However, my main disappointment is with the title of the recipe, which is misleading, while the house smells amazing, this tastes NOTHING like creole chicken. It tastes honestly more like beef stew! (don't ask me how, still trying to figure that out) This recipe (without alterations) is great for someone looking for a hearty chicken stew. It is actually pretty tasty if that is what you want, its just hard to want it if you go all day expecting creole chicken for dinner. It ended up with very little liquid so I had to add another can of tomatoes and some corn just to help it out, and it still tastes like its missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Excellent and easy to make. Only thing I changed was added a couple of bay leaves and substituted fresh mushrooms which need to be added about half way through the cooking. Have made it several times and have found cooking on low produces the best texture and tender chicken. Serve over white rice and it is wonderful, and low calorie and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dejjenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I added a glass of dry white wine and more chicken, cut out the mushrooms, and substituted the stewed tomato for crushed. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The only thing I changed is adding more celery (as much as the bell pepper, for the correct "trinity" ), 6 breasts, and a cup of chicken stock. Incredibly easy and tasty, the whole family loved this. Pro tip: it makes AWESOME omlette filler with a bit of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
very good and flavourful! I used the creole seasoning also found on this site, and then added 3tbsp of it to this recipe (as per others suggestions). Family loved it and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
It was ok, nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My husband LOVES this recipe. I've converted it from crockpot to oven and used a homemade seasoning instead of store bought. The creole seasoning I used was by JOSLYN here on AllRecipes: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/creole-seasoning-blend/detail.aspx I layered in my pot as follows: chicken - 1 tbsp seasoning sprinkled over top - vegetables - 1 tbsp seasoning, repeat until ingredients used up or pot is full. For crockpot conversion, I used my cast iron dutch oven covered at 325F for 2 hours. Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love cajun food. This is a great recipe. However, next time I will use hot sausage instead of chicken to maximize the cajun flavor! I also substituted canned japapenos as I did not have fresh and two cans of tomatoes to prevent dish from being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Somerville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was a terrific, quick, weeknight recipe. I put this together in about 15 minutes and let it go on low about 10 hours before serving over rice. I used Zatarran's creole seasoning sprinkled over the chicken, and added 4 sliced links of andouille sausage over that. Topped with the veggies and tomatoes, and added a cup of caldo de tomate/pollo broth, and more Zatarran's over that. I took the chicken out about 6 hours into the cooking time and shredded. Next time I make this I think I'll add some tomato paste, I would have liked a little more thickness/tomatoey taste to the broth. Overall, a very tasty dish and a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 21-30 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States