Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
This recipe was very good, i used two cans of the stewed tomatoes, 6 cloves of garlic, 5 celery stalks, 1/2 cup beef stock, i added no bell pepper, these are the ways i differentiated from the recipe. It was very good over brown rice, great leftover also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
It was so so watery that there was no point in trying to serve it over rice. I just ended up draining off the juice, shredding the chicken and we made tacos out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I loved this recepie. Added a red pepper but omitted the jalepheno . My hubby didnt like the look of it but LOVED the dish, he had 3 helpings..... We didnt add anything else just ate is as is. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Chapman
Home Town: Darwen, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made this tonight for dinner exactly as directed except for the "creole seasoning to taste" part. How am I supposed to know what "to taste" is if you don't provide me a guideline? Is that a teaspoon or a cup?? I used 3T per another reviewers suggestion which seemed to be just right. This recipe wasn't bad but I wouldn't call it great either and I probably won't ever repeat it. 5 hours on low made the 4 chicken breasts way overcooked and dry. The sauce over the egg noodles was the best part but again, nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was ok, but I don't think I'll make it again....just didn't seem like a complete meal.... edit: added penne pasta boiled in beef stock and added more red pepper flakes, salt and pepper and it made it into a 4 star recipe- seems more like a meal now and taste is improved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe. Of course, we all like to make things our own. I use Emeril's creole spice (NOT my own, google it). I dry rub the chicken with Emiril's spice, brown it in my cast iron pan then add to the slow cooker. I then deglaze the pan with a tasty red wine and add to the cooker with the chicken. I substitute the green pepper with one red, and one orange. I also just slice the jalapeno leaving the ribs and the seed for spice. Last but not least I add a thinly sliced andouille sausage for that smokey Louisiana goodness. Hailing from western Canada I have NO clue whether or not this counts as a "creole" but.... Mmmm nom nom nom. Thanks for the base recipe! I wouldn't have been able to create this from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoff Maguire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
this was fantastic!! I used split chicken breasts and 2 hours before serving I shredded and removed the bones. added chicken back and cooked on high for 2 hours. served over rice and then added the leftover rice and some shrimp to the leftovers for jambalaya later in the week. I didnt add mushrooms or jalapeno. I have a 6 yr old, but I did add cayenne & it was perfect for a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Excellent! After reading numerous reviews I did add an extra can of chopped tomatoes to go along with the stewed and 1 extra small jalapeno and a 1/2 can of chicken broth. I used 3 heaping tbsp. of Tony C's creole seasoning "to taste". No salt or additional pepper was necessary. I also used a package of chicken breast tenders for the meat and MAN OH MAN THIS WAS GOOD! The texture was perfect and spooned it over some brown rice. As in another review, I put some in a soup bowl the next day, added a few splashes of water to thin it up a tad and it was some of the best soup I ever had! This ones a keeper--give it a try! However, though I like a bit of heat and 2 jalapenos was NOT overwhelmingly hot, I will probably only use one jalapeno the next time I make this delicious concoction. I cooked on high in slow cooker for 2 hours then low for 6 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Sardella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I think this is a great recipe to start with and tweak to your own taste. I added 4 T. creole seasoning, no mushrooms, no jalapeno, used Hunt's spicy diced tomatoes (2 cans), + tomato paste(1 can), + 1 cup chicken broth, +frozen corn, +diced 3 small zucchinis, +more minced garlic, +1 bay leaf,+1 t. of red pepper flakes,1 diced bell pepper, and no celery. Served over rice with a warm yeast roll on the side, and the family LOVED it!!! I get ideas from recipes, we all have different taste buds. So I give this (idea)recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States