Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
very salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
So yummy! This is an excellent meal for a chilly fall or winter night. Spicy, but not too much like some other Creole or Cajun dishes. The only thing missed in the directions is to shred the chicken once it's tender and return to crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This recipe really needs to indicate how much creole seasoning to use. It's fine for using "to taste" for salt and pepper but for spices and seasonings I think it needs to be specific. I saw several reviews that mentioned this as well and a lot of them used too little. Well I went the opposite way and used too much. I made my own seasoning using a recipe I found on allrecipes which seems to have good flavor. I ended up just adding a ton of water to the dish and made it into a soup which helped. I didn't add mushrooms and I added a couple of extra jalapenos along with the seeds. It wasn't too spicy hot, just spicy. I actually thought it would be more hot since I added additional jalapenos and seeds. I also added some tomato paste like some of the others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Ive been making this dish for at least three or four years now! Love it! I just double the ingredients. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Fixed this using 3T creole seasoning and omitting the jalapeno. It had just the right amount of heat for us. I also did not get the chicken out of the freezer soon enough, so fixed it in my digital pressure cooker. I added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce for the needed liquid. Served it over rice. A good go-to recipe at the last minute with my pressure cooker. I am looking forward to fixing it in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Great recipe if you like Creole. Changes I made were to add 1 can tomato paste, more Creole Seasoning (to heat it up) and 1 cup water. Hubby loved it - served with fresh pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very tasy, a little too salty. Omit salt the next time. There is enough in the Creole Seasoning. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Haven't tried the recipe but just wanted to point out, Creole cuisine is not the same as Cajun cuisine. Creole denotes someone who is of mixed heritage, i.e. African/French/Spanish/Haitian et cetera who was born in the New Orleans area (at least that's one of the meanings). Cajuns on the other hand are a group of people who originated from Canada (French speaking) and settled in the bayou country in South Louisiana in the Lafayette and surrounding areas this area is referred to as Acadiana. Their cooking is distinctly different and the Creole borrows heavily from the African cuisine, gumbo, jambalaya, et cetera. Thanks and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was simple to make, especially when you chopped the vegetables the night before. However, because the seasoning amount is not specified I added too little in the morning. It had a very plain taste. I would say double the tomatoes and do about 4 tbsp of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Blah. Made this for dinner tonight. Other than being INSANELY easy to prepare and inexpensive to boot, I can't think of anything positive to say about this. On the flipside, my fiance commented that this was the best meal I've prepared in a while (huh???). Despite seasoning my chicken liberally with Emeril's essence (and only using 3 breasts total), subbing a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles for stewed tomatoes and adding a 14.5 oz. can of chicken broth, I followed Mary's directions to the letter. I served up bowlfuls mixed with Minute rice (which I added to my slow cooker during the last 30 minutes of cooking - try it, it really works!). My verdict? I won't be adding this to my regular menu rotation, but thank you, Mary for sharing your recipe with me! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States