Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was a huge hit in our house! I bought Tony Chachere's "More Spice" Seasoning and coated the chicken liberally. I let it marinate while I chopped the vegetables. I omitted mushrooms and celery and added 3 zucchinis. I added 1/2 a can of tomato paste and a can of chicken broth and used diced jalapeno peppers I had in the fridge instead of fresh (about 1 1/2 teaspoons-we like it hot around here). Other than these changes, I followed the recipe as written. My husband loved it and the house smelled amazing when we returned from shopping. I am not sure why some people haven't been impressed with this. I think "season to taste" has something to do with it. They are probably not putting enough seasoning in. Sprinkle the heck outta that chicken and let it sit while you chop everything and you should be impressed! Thanks for the recipe, Mary:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very easy and delicious dish! I added black beans, pineapples, and corn. I used 4 tablespoons of creole seasoning. Served it over brown rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
My husband would give it 5, I would give it 3. He loves it. I'm mixed. I made it exactly as described in the recipe, and it didn't need extra liquid. It's not supposed to be a soup. I would say that it definitely had flavor as is, but then also didn't...? It tasted a bit like a roast chicken from the super market, meaning that it tastes of chicken but not like bland chicken. I just couldn't categorize the flavor I was tasting. Because I was worried (reading reviews made me paranoid), before I dished up for everyone else, I also added a couple drops of Tabasco but I'm not sure it needed it. You can taste the Tabasco, but then you can taste the original meal flavor as a separate entity along side it. It's a very odd experience. But I will say that my mouth got saturated with it very quickly and I found I couldn't eat much. It made me crave things that were mellow flavored and sweet, like a cinnamon bun. Weird, no?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I added a drained can of black beans to this recipe, and took out the jalapeno. Some of my family prefers bland food, and they even liked it. All in all it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is delicious! I made so many changes, and would not have liked the original recipe without them, so 5 stars is for finished product, not original recipe :) But it is so adaptable, it is a great recipe to start with. My changes: I used crushed tomatoes, 2 stalks celery, fresh mushrooms, 5 cloves garlic (our preference), 3 chicken breasts, and some sausage. It was not too spicy, perfect for our 2yr old. I think next time I will use 2 bell peppers, and 2 jalepenos and it still wouldn't be too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
had this going while at work.....couldn't have been happier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a hit in our household! The flavors melded together wonderfully. I served with cheesy grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Delicious! I, too also added chicken broth and small can of tomato paste and served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I am trying hard right now to give this dish flavor. I agree that you can't add Creole seasoning to taste. I thought I liberally sprinkled it on each breast and the flavor was slight. I read some reviews and noticed that people were adding 3 - 4 TBSP of it?!?!?!? That is not a "to taste" amount. So I just went and added it, along with some diced tomatoes to give it more texture. I hope that this will work!!! Otherwise, we are ordering pizza! EDITED: Since I added 4 TBSP of creole seasoning and added more tomatoes to my shredded chicken, I must say that this was indeed tasty and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out a little dry. And it was pretty bland for chicken creole. Next time I will use this as a starter recipe but make several changes. I should have looked at the other reviewers suggestions before I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States