Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I didn't care for this but my husband liked it enough to ask me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theguts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
very salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
So yummy! This is an excellent meal for a chilly fall or winter night. Spicy, but not too much like some other Creole or Cajun dishes. The only thing missed in the directions is to shred the chicken once it's tender and return to crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This recipe really needs to indicate how much creole seasoning to use. It's fine for using "to taste" for salt and pepper but for spices and seasonings I think it needs to be specific. I saw several reviews that mentioned this as well and a lot of them used too little. Well I went the opposite way and used too much. I made my own seasoning using a recipe I found on allrecipes which seems to have good flavor. I ended up just adding a ton of water to the dish and made it into a soup which helped. I didn't add mushrooms and I added a couple of extra jalapenos along with the seeds. It wasn't too spicy hot, just spicy. I actually thought it would be more hot since I added additional jalapenos and seeds. I also added some tomato paste like some of the others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Ive been making this dish for at least three or four years now! Love it! I just double the ingredients. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Fixed this using 3T creole seasoning and omitting the jalapeno. It had just the right amount of heat for us. I also did not get the chicken out of the freezer soon enough, so fixed it in my digital pressure cooker. I added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce for the needed liquid. Served it over rice. A good go-to recipe at the last minute with my pressure cooker. I am looking forward to fixing it in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Great recipe if you like Creole. Changes I made were to add 1 can tomato paste, more Creole Seasoning (to heat it up) and 1 cup water. Hubby loved it - served with fresh pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very tasy, a little too salty. Omit salt the next time. There is enough in the Creole Seasoning. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Haven't tried the recipe but just wanted to point out, Creole cuisine is not the same as Cajun cuisine. Creole denotes someone who is of mixed heritage, i.e. African/French/Spanish/Haitian et cetera who was born in the New Orleans area (at least that's one of the meanings). Cajuns on the other hand are a group of people who originated from Canada (French speaking) and settled in the bayou country in South Louisiana in the Lafayette and surrounding areas this area is referred to as Acadiana. Their cooking is distinctly different and the Creole borrows heavily from the African cuisine, gumbo, jambalaya, et cetera. Thanks and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was simple to make, especially when you chopped the vegetables the night before. However, because the seasoning amount is not specified I added too little in the morning. It had a very plain taste. I would say double the tomatoes and do about 4 tbsp of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States