Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I was excited to make this recipe but was disappointed in the taste. My husband politely said it was "good" but I think my expectations were a little high. I added more garlic, tomato paste, and more onions, but this wasn't the homemade wonder that other reviewers depicted. I'm not saving this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I made this yesterday since the weather has turned off cool and my 16 year old son ate 2 bowls of it. Didn't even wait for the rice. I did add the chicken stock, tomato paste and extra jalepenos. I also threw in leftover corn, a can of kidney beans and some smoked sausage. I think next time I will use bonless chicken thighs as the chicken breast was dry. Wonderful recipe and will make this a staple in my menu planning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mukamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Talladega, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I loved this! I only had 3 chicken breasts, and I had to omit the celery as I was out of it. I also didn't use any salt, the creole seasoning had plenty, and added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I cooked it on low for about 7 hours, and the chicken was so tender that if fell apart when I poked it with a spoon. I served it with brown rice, and can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch. I kept sneaking back to the fridge after dinner to eat bits of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This chicken is wonderful and tender. I did as some suggested and added sliced real mushrooms instead of canned and added some chicken broth and tomato paste. I can't keep my spoon out of the pot! Is it dinner time yet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I tried the suggestion of using the Rotel tomatoes and chilies. It gave the dish a Mexican flavor. It didn't taste like Creole at all so beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
My family enjoyed this recipe. I put in more chicken than the original recipe, but it worked out fine. I also added more spice, since that is my nature here in South Louisiana. It was a worthy dish, that I will do again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This was delicious. I added 2 cups chicken broth near the end to give it more broth. The blend of vegetables make this a very tasty dish - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was a very good meal. I did what others suggested and added half a can of tomato paste. I also added some chicken broth to the paste to dissolve it some. I served this over rice, it was excellent. Such an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I followed the suggestions posted by kado on 3/29/06 and we absolutely loved it! Served with white rice and zesty corn (corn with the green and red peppers in it, so therefore I didn't put green peppers in the crock pot). My husband and I mixed ours up in a big bowl, the kids kept it separated, but all said it was delicious! This has a designated place in our family menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Made the recipe with minimal additions (1 can of vegetable stock just to make it soupy) and it was absolutely fabulous--a spicy, yummy, healthy chicken vegetable soup. Served over whole wheat rotini. It's so nice to see healthy recipes on here for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States